We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Balti King

Balti King
Ranked #916 of 1,434 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We visited the restaurant on Christmas Eve 2013 with our two adult sons and not having been before didn't know what to expect. It was busy downstairs at 7.00pm but more seating upstairs, which wasn't as cosy. We had several drinks with our meals and didn't bother with starters, just had poppadum and pickle tray and shared sides of rice with our main courses. I had King Prawn Jalfrezzi and was absolutely delicious. The food was very good, but admittedly the staff did rush us a bit, although we all enjoyed it and for what we paid, it was cheap, cheerful and would definitely visit again. A "no frills" restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arcade186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    61
    33
    21
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SHEFFIELD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor value”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My man friend and I booked a table at the Balti King Fulwood Road Sheffield on a Saturday evening at the end of December 2013.

We had booked this with an on-line deal of what we thought was a bargain at £10 for a 4 course meal for 2 persons .

At first we were welcomed with smiles and fast service - being as we were the only customers there.
Our first impressions were that the actual venue was not as good as we had expected. The toilets were really upstairs and really grotty.
The four courses included a starter, main, rice or a nan and coffee each.
We ordered drinks and poppadums' and a spice tray which were payable and ok.
We had a starter of onion bargees which were fair but the flat type and a bit overcooked..
The food was not very good and the main was simply equivalent to a small frozen curry, we shared a rice which was served on a tea plate and was cold and also had a garlic nan which was warm but we could not taste any garlic .

Then we waited and we waited and we waited AND WE WAITED for the coffee ....we did try to get various waiters attention but to no avail. in the end we had to physically stop a waiter and were finally served coffee with digestive biscuits.
When we went t o the bar to pay the bill we found we had been charged £3 each for the coffee and had a heated debate to prove the coffee was in with the meal deal.
All in all the meal was ok value for the £10 deal we paid........... BUT we would not have liked to pay the full price.
Needless to say we will never return.........

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“warning....”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Bought Groupon voucher for meal for 2 on the strength of the reviews online. Not sure we went to the same restaurant. It was scruffy and dismal - daren't think what it will look like when the tinsel comes down. The food was fairly good, however the service was terrible. We were rushed at every stage (the place was almost empty)and the table was cleared after every course before everyone was finished (there were 4 of us). One of the elderly waiters stood over us more than once while we were eating trying to sell us a discount voucher which we found annoying. Some of the sweets on the menu weren't available at the end of the meal and to cap it all we couldn't pay by card. There were notices pointed out to us when we came to pay but these were not visible enough and it was not obvious when we sat down that payment could only be made by cash. This was extremely inconvenient and we had to draw cash on our credit card by a local cash machine, for which we will be paying dearly in debit interest until it is paid back. They have removed their credit card machine to save themselves money (approx £1k p.a.) but this is a massive inconvenience for most customers, especially as there is no warning of this when you buy the Groupon voucher. We would not go back despite the payment difficulty - can't believe we got dressed up to visit such a dump. Chewing gum on seats, mouldy smell, very dated decor. Not good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sean2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent - Curry was Outstanding”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Visited a couple of nights ago on a KGB deal and was dubious in what quality and service to expect. Hospitality was excellent and the Chicken Madras and Chicken Tikka Massalla was above and beyond from one of the top regional curry houses. The garlic nan was smaller in size compared to the leading restaurant, however the standard was excellent and preferred.
The restaurant is about 10 miles away from us and we would certainly make the journey and visit again even without the KGB deal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linsey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really worth to try”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Couple of hours ago went there with friends. Ordered mix kebab as starter and chicken tika curry with naan bread. Oh boy it was good! Naan bread (freshly made) was so good that I wouldn't mind if that was only food over there, but it wasn't ;). Chicken was delicious as well as curry. I almost retreat my stomach wasn't bigger. Place itself looks slightly tacky (redurb comes to mind when coming in) and oldish but it's the food what brings you there. Best Indian food i had so far and I was in supposedly best in Ian food restaurant in London. Balti blew it out of the water. If you like Indian food and n Sheffield... You know what to do...!
S. Wauchers for 4 available.

Helpful?
1 Thank Iggyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balti King also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Balti King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing