We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balti King

Balti King
Ranked #901 of 1,418 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
SHEFFIELD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Nice Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Balti Kings' menu is a must to try.
There is a vast selection from starters to mains, you will be spoilt for choice.
The staff are friendly and the service is fast. No long waits between courses.
Most of the time i go there are always full tables which proves that good food is being served.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DH40944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    59
    31
    21
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Amazing food. Did not disappoint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We came here with a Groupon voucher, but even if we had paid full price, would have still been worth it.
Granted, the inside really could do with a makeover, but who cares when the food is so good.
The staff are very polite and chatty.
Will definitely return!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DollyGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbys
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Always enjoy it here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Not been for over a year and decided to have lunch for 3 of us on a Saturday. It was empty when we arrived and a rather bemused looking man appeared from the kitchen. It became apparent he was by himself to do the prep for the evening, cook, serve drinks answer the phone et.c (It did get busier before we left). He was totally charming and friendly, the meals were divine, I can recommend the Veg Handee!
The place is quite tired looking and could do with a clean but the food is great and staff friendly

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chasrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Bother !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went to the Balti King from an offer through a Network Provider and we're so pleased that we didn't pay full price for the food we received
We both had different starters Chicken and Chana Puree, well they just looked like a soggy mess in the dish (probably warmed up in the microwave) and both tasted the same, more of a korma coconut taste, not like the purees we've ever tasted before in other restaurants
The mains well say no more ! no taste whats so ever, and very poor portion size, the place in our opinion needs a major overall, none of the plates, dishes etc matched and looked very shabby not to our taste at all, needless to say that we'll never ever be going there again !

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EatoutSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One you'll keep coming back to”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have been to Balti King more times than I can remember. This is a great place. I want to give it 5 stars, but I must be realistic. The food is perhaps only average -but it's still good -I can recommend the Kashmiri dish and Peshwari naan. Well I'd recommend a lot of different curries there, but those were my personal favourites to order.

What makes this place awesome though is the atmosphere created by the staff. They are lovely and even when I come visiting Sheffield years later and drop in for a curry, they still remember me and greet me like an old friend. Tony, the owner, is really special, makes you feel really welcome.

Another plus: the food is very reasonably priced, and on freshers week they hand out deal cards to students that make the price even more reasonable!!! So you can visit them often and not break the bank.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balti King also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Balti King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing