We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Italian Food”

Carluccio's - Reading
Ranked #71 of 614 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $26 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Italian Food”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is one of my favourite places to eat in Reading because not only is the food great but the customer service is good too. Finding suitable places to eat with a 15 month old can be tricky, while Carluccio's in quite an upmarket restaurant they still cater for the young ones with kids menus' highchairs, baby change facilities, crayons and friendly wait staff. This is one of my staple restaurants for lunch in Reading.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    141
    58
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Dependable Italian experience”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visited in a large group on a Friday evening. The style of this restaurant may not agree with everybody. It is modern, bright and canteen like, with high ceilings and exposed ducting but the food is very good. Spaghetti vongole was as good as any I have had in Italy and I visit Florence and Rome 15-20 times a year on business. Service was a bit patchy, slow on the first drinks but the meals all came out together which is not easy when you have 13 at the table. I rarely order 'recommended' wine as it often means high margins for the reataurant and a poor experience for the diner, but on this occasion I tried both the red and white and they were really good. The espresso was also excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Always worth it”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Whenever we feel like a treat, at the end of a long working day or to chill out over the weekend, Carluccio's is one of our favourite places to go. Taste and simplicity is what distinguishes this restaurant in Reading together with the very friendly and professional staff. We have just come back from another lovely dinner, tonight Dino has made our experience even more pleasant and enjoyable with his attentive, courteous, friendly and discrete service. As it often happens, we left the place with a few more take always from the local deli!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A night to repeat”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked for an opera evening during May and didn't know what to expect. But it proved to be a really good evening out. Greeted at the door by the manager and directed to our seats by a waiter and provided with a glass of Prosecco we knew we were in for a good night out. The food, although a set menu, proved to be every bit as good as our previous dining experiences there. The singing was great and not too heavy - well known operatic pieces and show tunes. The waiters were friendly and attentive and we thought it very good value at £35 per head. We shall go again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank themannings10yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lacks atmosphere”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I went here with a friend and her young baby. The restaurant is children friendly, and is spread out so that we could sit away from other diners incase the baby cried. There was no atmosphere in the restaurant, it is very canteen like with high ceiling and the front area is a shop. The food was ok, we had the set menu which was good value for money. The service was good, we had everything that we needed, However I would not rush to visit again - there are other chain retaurants that are family friendly that I would prefer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank relaxandsightsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carluccio's - Reading also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Carluccio's - Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing