We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Park is superb for a day out - food is digusting (bring a picnic)”
Review of Beale Park

Beale Park
Ranked #2 of 87 things to do in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beale Park Wildlife Park & Gardens was founded in 1956 by Gilbert Beale who created the Child Beale Trust, a charitable organisation, dedicated to the care and conservation of rare and endangered animals and birds. Not only is Beale Park a charity, the Park is a great place to be with fun, adventure, gardens, amazing animals and birds and play parks - there's even a splash pool and miniature train!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Park is superb for a day out - food is digusting (bring a picnic)”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We are season ticket holders at Beale Park. My girls love it. The animals are fascinating to watch and my girls love riding on the mini-train to see the whole park. We use the indoor play area (small but good for tiny ones) and the outdoor play areas (lots of climbing frames). It was great value to get the season ticket and go lots of times. Love Beale Park.

Food - Room for improvement!!

I forgot my picnic once and had to eat in the restaurant. It was expensive (£15 for two burgers and a kids sausage & mash). My daughter refused the sausage and mash (a first!) because it looked so bad. I ate my burger, but only because of hunger -- it was not good. Completely negative experience. Sort out the food Beale Park!!! Cheap nasty food at proper restaurant prices is just unacceptable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wirples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    334
    98
    36
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful day out”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We took our 6 year old grandson here for a day out during the October half term holiday, he had the most wonderful time and would go day after day if he could, he had a train ride and then stood and waived as it went round again, he was so thrilled everyone waived back to him - it was such a joy to see his little face light up, I'd go back again just to experience the thrill he got from such a simple pleasure. He raced around getting his 'card' stamped at all the different stamping stations. A fantastic day out and one we will do time and time again - thank you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for under five's”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great place to take under fives...liked the train, animals and the little tykes play area was a big hit with our children. We weren't so impressed with the cafe, however- would like to see more healthy food choices for little children with vegetables...the pasta with sauce was just tomato and quite poor really. How about a meat and veggie cottage pie, chunky pasta soup or fish and chips....kids would prefer and are much more nutritious options....

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect for a young family”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We live about 5 miles away and spent at least a dozen days every summer at Beale Park with our children from the time when they were toddlers to the age of 12 (just last year). Rides, animals, playground. They loved it. And so did we.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Murray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent day out for most ages1”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Even in late October this site makes an excellent day out for families of all ages (except teenagers looking for exciting rides as other reviews point out!). We really enjoyed an interesting visit with our grand-daughter even in mixed October weather and will definitely return in the future.
The site is next to the River Thames and makes excellent use of the countryside as well as its mix of old (some historic) and new buildings. Entry prices include a free train ride.
Indoor (under 5s) and outdoor play areas plus a paddling pool (in summer season).
The lunch is excellent value for money - the portions are large and the quality of food is good for the price. Lots to see and check their Web site (www.bealepark.co.uk) for special events and more details. NB owned and run by a Charitable Trust so also worthy of support for its conservation role.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DStravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beale Park also viewed

 

Been to Beale Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing