We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for under five's”
Review of Beale Park

Beale Park
Ranked #2 of 87 things to do in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beale Park Wildlife Park & Gardens was founded in 1956 by Gilbert Beale who created the Child Beale Trust, a charitable organisation, dedicated to the care and conservation of rare and endangered animals and birds. Not only is Beale Park a charity, the Park is a great place to be with fun, adventure, gardens, amazing animals and birds and play parks - there's even a splash pool and miniature train!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Italia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for under five's”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great place to take under fives...liked the train, animals and the little tykes play area was a big hit with our children. We weren't so impressed with the cafe, however- would like to see more healthy food choices for little children with vegetables...the pasta with sauce was just tomato and quite poor really. How about a meat and veggie cottage pie, chunky pasta soup or fish and chips....kids would prefer and are much more nutritious options....

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    334
    98
    36
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect for a young family”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We live about 5 miles away and spent at least a dozen days every summer at Beale Park with our children from the time when they were toddlers to the age of 12 (just last year). Rides, animals, playground. They loved it. And so did we.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Murray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent day out for most ages1”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Even in late October this site makes an excellent day out for families of all ages (except teenagers looking for exciting rides as other reviews point out!). We really enjoyed an interesting visit with our grand-daughter even in mixed October weather and will definitely return in the future.
The site is next to the River Thames and makes excellent use of the countryside as well as its mix of old (some historic) and new buildings. Entry prices include a free train ride.
Indoor (under 5s) and outdoor play areas plus a paddling pool (in summer season).
The lunch is excellent value for money - the portions are large and the quality of food is good for the price. Lots to see and check their Web site (www.bealepark.co.uk) for special events and more details. NB owned and run by a Charitable Trust so also worthy of support for its conservation role.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DStravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming day out for children”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Beale Park is aimed fair and square at families with young children. There are no exciting rides for teenagers. If you are over 8 you might think there's not a lot to do or see. Under that age and you will have a wonderful time. If you are a parent with kids having a wonderful time its great for you too.

There is an old fashioned charming innocence about Beale Park. Lots of small animals, compact layout, large paddling pools and sand, mini climbing frames and much more for the wee ones. A main attraction is a smashing train ride that covers much of the park and is a good way to start your visit. You will get a feel for layout and what you might want to investigate further.

The restaurant is average at best and can be hectic. If you plan a picnic in advance that's by far the better option.

I enjoyed taking our children there back in the 1980s. I enjoy taking the grandchildren now just as much. Over that time Beale Park has been expanded and improved but there is a charming simplicity about what young children want from a day out and Beale Park still delivers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oldchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect place for a family day out”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had such a lovely time there on a sunny autumn day. Nice open space, animals to look at and a playground area right next to the restaurant where serve fresh and delicious food! My 4 year old daughter especially loved the train ride. Strongly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank wonsongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beale Park also viewed

 

Been to Beale Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing