We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beale Park

Beale Park
Ranked #2 of 87 things to do in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beale Park Wildlife Park & Gardens was founded in 1956 by Gilbert Beale who created the Child Beale Trust, a charitable organisation, dedicated to the care and conservation of rare and endangered animals and birds. Not only is Beale Park a charity, the Park is a great place to be with fun, adventure, gardens, amazing animals and birds and play parks - there's even a splash pool and miniature train!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
1 review
“Perfect place for a family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had such a lovely time there on a sunny autumn day. Nice open space, animals to look at and a playground area right next to the restaurant where serve fresh and delicious food! My 4 year old daughter especially loved the train ride. Strongly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank wonsongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    327
    98
    36
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great for little children.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a lovely day out for toddlers and pre-schoolers. Not as big as Cotswold wildlife park. But just right for that age-group. You can get discounts for group bookings. Take a picnic as the cafe is a bit lame - as these things often are, and you cannot get into the self-service area with a buggy, which I found astonishing, since most people visiting are people with toddlers. But the playgrounds are fun and the animals good to see. And the little railway is great fun for the little ones (it they stay awake).

Helpful?
Thank NandPMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good day out, lots to do depending on season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you go regularly the season ticket saves you a lot.

Lots to do, including petting area. Can take up a day depending if paddling pools are open, otherwise expect to spend 1-3 hours. Very pretty grounds and house.

Did not do a student discount :(

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Really enjoyed our little trip to Beale Park. We took our 3 year old son with us who loved the meerkats and train ride. I didnt realise there was a kids pool there otherwise I would have packed swimming trunks for my son. Really enjoyed the little tikes village too. WIsh i had done more reading up, the restaurant was pricey and very basic so would have preferred to pack a picnic which many people had done, wish we had.

All in all a great family day out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheMacsInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice park with lots to do with the little ones, lovely day out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Im surprised about some peoples negative reviews, especially regarding the cafe... its not a restaurant! Its a small cafe that tries to cater for a range of requirments at a child friendly attraction and we found it fine, we enjoyed a nice lunch and they had plenty of choice for the children and all very reasonbaly priced, they also have a great drinks and ice cream selection! The Park does have a large picnic area for those that wish to bring their own food, we have been fortunate to visit on a couple of occassions when the weather has been lovely which I am sure makes the day more enjoyable, there were lots of animals which were out and playfull, some nice walks through the various enclosures and the paly area is vast and kept the children entertained for ages! The pool is a nice touch when open and the children loved having a cool down... the staff were very friendly and for the price its a great day out, we would recommend taking a few 20p coins if you go as they have bird feed available around the pond and water walkways which is a nice touch for the kids!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beale Park also viewed

 

Been to Beale Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing