We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Reading Museum

Reading Museum
Ranked #9 of 88 things to do in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore our galleries of amazing objects local and global. There’s something for everyone from biscuit tins to beetles, Romans to Rodin. We are a venue for business functions, weddings and live music
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We wanted to see the copy of the Bayeux tapestry on display on the first floor - very well presented and worth seeing - there was also a decent looking cafe which unfortunately on this occasion we didn't have time to try.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sub_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    135
    29
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Museum of Reading”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is one of the best regional museums I have visited. It has a superb collection of Roman Mosaics from nearby Silchester as well as a whacky collection of tins from Huntley and Palmers the former local biscuit factory.I also particularly like the wonderful collection of small sculptures and woodcarvings.Some of the temporary exhibitions are outstanding. Of particular importance was the recent Robert Gilmore Retrospective featuring many classic works from Britain's premier linotype artist. All this for free. It's unbelievable. The Museum also has a reasonable cafe and shop and is conveniently located in the centre of the town.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent small museuam, but the highlight is a full reproduction of the Bayeaux tapestry embroidered (as is the original) in Victorian times. No need to go to France, no crowds, and it is free!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davidiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A visit to Reading”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

It’s been twenty or so years since we moved away from the Reading area and even when we lived near here we never visited the local museum. However, when visiting some friends recently we decided to go and have a look. I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. Entrance was free and we were welcomed by a friendly member of the team who provided some background info on the exhibits. The main item being an exact copy the Bayeux Tapestry telling the story of 1066. In addition the museum houses a variety of other interesting items, some from Roman Silchester, others from Readings industrial past. Two hours went quite quickly and there was still more to see. On the down side, some of the exhibit lighting was of poor quality and more could be made of the interactive side of things for children. There is a small cafeteria and shop on the ground floor level and a sturdy lift to take you between floors if you need it. As mentioned, no charge is made for entry but a suggested donation of £2.00 seems fair.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wargrave, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

there is an excellent exhibition of prints in the museum
yesterday I went to talk and visit which was just incredibly informative about the various techniques used in printing with examples of plates and print development
there is also the copy of the Bayeaux tapestry. Compared with a visit to see the real thing it is a great exhibition. at least you can look without being ushered on and the workmanship is outstanding

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2590861Davidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reading Museum also viewed

 

Been to Reading Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing