We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still up to scratch”
Review of Dolce Vita

Dolce Vita
Ranked #46 of 625 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $49
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Still up to scratch”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have not been to Dolce Vita for over 18 months but upon my return the owner/manageress was very welcoming and friendly in her family Italian way. She and her staff were attentive throughout the meal and the prawn/crab stack followed up by the monk fish were both very tasty and worth re-locating to the restaurant to order! They have a good wine selection to accompany the food and as it was still warm enough - the veranda was a lovely place to dine. about £90 for 2 course for 2 with a bottle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    95
    21
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Tucked away but worth the trip”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The restaurant is at the rear and top of King's Walk and so a bit out of the way.

We had a nice table outside with the not so nice view of the rear of Debenhams.

Service was good and attentive and very nicely paced.

No complaints with the food either - well cooked, nicely presented, tasty generous servings.

Good value too. £70 for lunch for three, sans grog.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MWC2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and warm and hospitable welcome”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have been dining here for many years, so excellent is the food and welcome that many colleagues have been moved to choose this restaurant when entertaining guests or celebrating special events. Staff are friendly with polite attentive service which remains unobtrusive. Food is always excellent with a wide and varied menu; my vegetarian wife always has a wide selection which is rare in these days whilst my elderly parents are treated as part of the family and always served portions which mean they are not overwhelmed. Personally I choose the calamari and prawns as a starter and the calves liver as main; however the sardines are a tour de force if in season. If you want a proper Italian meal served with love then this is your destination, try it and I am sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelkortheMighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Despite living in Reading for over a year now this is the first time we've ever been to Dolce Vita and I really, REALLY wish we'd discovered it sooner! I booked a table for my partner's birthday and they were more than accomodating when I took some table decorations for them to put up before we arrived. Fantastic menu choice and wine selection with brilliant service. Everything we had was absolutely delicious. If you're a fan of Italian food you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Started off great; ended terribly”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited Dolce Vita with a group of friends and we were all very excited to try it out. To begin with the service was great; starters and mains were authentic and delicious.

When we had finished our mains it took the staff 20 minutes to clear our plates, and that was only when we started stacking them. Although saying we wanted desserts the menu wasn't brought, we asked another waitress who subsequently forgot straight away and then the original waiter realised and brought them over!

It was a shame because we wanted more drinks and desserts, but no one came to take our order. In the end we tracked down a waiter & paid the bill to go elsewhere.

I would return for the food but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Vita also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Wokingham, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing