We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolce Vita

Dolce Vita
Ranked #36 of 610 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $49
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

quite expensive, some staff are much friendlier/ more helpful than others!

Overall ok, but would not be first choice for food/ value

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    93
    21
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a mid-week night out for a group of workmates - about 12 in all. Service was good, staff were friendly, food (or at least the food I had) was very good. It might be a little hard to locate as it's down the back of an arcade which was pretty quiet at night, but I guess we found it so it can't be that hard. The owner/manager person was very friendly and helpful. I've no idea of cost or value as someone else paid.

Would recommend it, and would go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zigmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great, relaxed indépendant restaurant in Reading”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have been eating at Dolce Vita at least once a month for about six years. It has always offered consistently good food and excellent service. Prices are very reasonable and they are very welcoming.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jlanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I've been eating at Dolce Vita since I first came to Reading as a student nearly 20 years ago and it's as good as ever. Vana and her staff are superbly friendly - she always sweeps my children off me when we get through the door (and has even sat and fed them as babies for us) then fills their pockets with chocolates when we leave! The food is good solid Italian fare, the pizzas particularly good - but beware of their chilli oil, wow. Prices are reasonable and there's always a set menu option.
Go there when it's quiet and make the most of their friendly company as they are a lovely team. If only all restaurants were this welcoming...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amman
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yummy & authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

touch of greek because the owner is greek. i love their food, appetizers, and main dishes. its 100% fresh service is excellent. view is very nice. it has indoor and outdoor. we hv been there many times......

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank almani95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Vita also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing