We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy Sunday Evening”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #206 of 624 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Reading Oracle offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lazy Sunday Evening”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I don't normally bother writing reviews on chains, as you know what the limitations are and the expectations are never that high. I have though over the years genuinely enjoyed the PE experience. This time though I was sadly disappointed. The restaurant has very recently been refurbished, style not my choice. Tables that became vacant were left at least 20 minutes before being cleaned. The toilets were dirty. Staff seem more intent on breaks than service. My pizza was perfectly cooked, my dinner companion was less than thrilled. But in fairness they did change it immediatley. Will not be rushing back to this PE in a hurry. PE although not expensive is not a cheap option and there is within a short distance a lot of interesting alternatives.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    66
    42
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice enough restaurant - good atmosphere and ambience.

The food was about average, the dough ball are always a Pizza Express favourite of mine. The service however was rather slow - it took a good while for the waiter to remove our finished main course plates, and he looked rather surprised when we asked for the dessert menu too. Another table alongside us also appeared to have been 'forgotten' about and actually walked over to pick up their own dessert menus!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great place to get ignored”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Love pizza Expreas but when it takes 20 mins to get someome to taked ur order then a furrher 30 for your food to not arrive....my patience with the brand wains. We walked....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasant but nothing to write home about”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visited on a Friday at 12.00 after trying to get into the Pizza Express in Reading opposite the Broad St Mall. This was closed and no sign of opening. This place is situated in the Oracle complex and is a large somewhat noisy location. Pleasant staff, attentive service and reliable food. If you want predictable but decent food then you can do no better than paying this a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mk1736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have been coming here every week for about a year and its amazing!

After trying a few things on the menu which were all great we both found the calabrese to be the best and is now the only thing we ever have for our main course! The main reason we kept going back here was for the exceptional service, especially from Pisti who is an exceptionally hard working bubbly character who will always go out of his way to help us get our favourite table and have our drinks automatically brought to us (we have the same every week) even at the busiest of times! We also were very fond of vicky and marco who were part of management and although they have gone on to other restaurants, they always ensured a great experience!

Cannot fault food and staff here, my partner and i both work in hospitality and we have an eye for detail and they always cope here and keep everyone happy at the busiest of times!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Imogen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing