We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strada was good, price was not”
Review of Strada

Strada
Ranked #69 of 624 Restaurants in Reading
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Strada was good, price was not”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Went for my girlfriends birthday and got free wine. Very nice treat. I ate a starter platter of nibbles which was nice but 7 £ it was pricey. I had a pork and mash dish and lovely ice cream. Hazlenut is fully recommended. All in all it was good but 55 £ not including service for two is a bit steep.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorondj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    115
    55
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Service was bad”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I visited the other night with friends from work food was ok but the service was appalling.
It was too difficult to attract the attention of the waitresses and in a couple of occasions I had to stand up from the table in case to be noticed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service with a smile and great food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It might be the weather, but all of the staff here seem to be really happy. Service was very friendly and kids were made to feel welcome.
Rib Eye steak was very tasty. Portion sizes are not the largest here, but food is good quality and presented well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thesoxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No longer our favourite place in Reading for pizze”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This used to be our favourite restaurant in Reading for a decent Italian pizza. But the devastating news is they've changed the menus and what was great has become distinctly second rate. Presumably in the interests of driving up margins they are skimping on ingredients which means rather than putting sweet succulent rounds of true mozarella on their pizze they are now putting some cheap combination of hard cheese and cut prize mozarella on them instead. Extremely disappointing and we don't intend going back until/unless they go back to doing proper Italian pizze again. What a shame.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good with my allergies”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Went there today with my sister and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food ... well, the food was amazing. We had antipasto for starter and it was yummy! Then for main course my sister had half a pizza (which was still enormous!) but very good apparently and I had pollo funghi which was really tasty. I was full up but still wanted more! I am allergic to onion, leeks and chives and onion is in a lot of things suprisingly enough but they were very good about it and as the sauce was premade with the meal, they made mine from fresh so I wasn't poisoned with onion. Shame their food isn't all completely fresh from scratch every time though? They admitted some of the meals are premade. Up to you how you take that though.

We couldn't fit any desert in but i'm sure it would have been lovely.

The only real problem that we had was we decided to sit inside by the big windows at the front and we were attacked by lots of flying ants. Ew! So we had to move but after that we were okay. So if you go, sit inside the restaurant nearer the kitchen and by the window was not nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strada also viewed

 

Been to Strada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing