We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much choice”
Review of The Spice Oven

The Spice Oven
Ranked #380 of 624 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $18 - $19
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“So much choice”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Spice Oven is best described as a giant Indian/Chinese buffet with something for everyone on offer. The decor isnt amazing and it gets very busy but you cant fault the value for money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Berkscouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    89
    42
    21
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
}���S��
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great for a group visit”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor reviews, I booked a table at the Spice Oven for our work Christmas meal.

I had booked 28 places and they had only shoe-horned 26 onto the tables but, when this was pointed out, they quickly gave us spaces on an adjacent table too.

Not every dish was liked by everyone (Christmas roast left people under-impressed, as did one of the Indian deserts) but, overall, there was something for everyone.

Even with higher prices for the Christmas season, it was still great value.

We also liked getting up to serve ourselves, which was better than being stuck at table all the time, and I like not having to get people's choices months in advance!

I would recommend it for any group...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Chissock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Selection & Good Food”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

As all you can eat buffets go, this is one of the best restaurants around. Food is tasty, service is good and the ambiance is pleasant. Pricing is differential depending on the day of the week but uniformly good value. Visit this place and there will be something each member of a party will really like!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StevShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very good buffet”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Earlier used to be a la carte and takeaway restaurant, but change of management or policy has made it buffet only restaurant, which I find thoroughly disappointing.

On our recent visit, found there were way too many items on the buffet. Majority of them were very good and warm. But strategically some items are left out - e.g. how can you not have a paneer main dish , and have 2 or 3 dishes containing gobi/aloo/peas.
Dessert selection is awesome. Overall , service is very good and worth a visit (or two).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stalwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good value but the main meal dishes vey bland.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We are a foodie family and love to try different food. So we visited Spice Oven to celebrate our son’s birthday.

This was the first time we visited this place. The first impression was good when we entered the restaurant. Nice comfortable table and the waiter/s were attentive.

This is a full buffet restaurant for a fixed price and one can eat anything and everything and as much as you like. The waiters are there to serve drinks and remove empty plates as you finish each course.

The restaurant was very busy due to Christmas rush. But that didn’t bother us.
Hint: Try and arrive by 7:30pm and you might avoid the big rush which starts at about 8pm.

If you are planning to celebrate anything special and looking for a quite restaurant then this may not be right for you.

The buffet food was laid out very well within the restaurant. Our favourite area was the starter food and the salad area. They have a large selection of Indian, Chinese starter food. They were freshly cooked and really tasty. They will also cook fresh noodles to your order. Verdict: EXCELLENT

They have large selection of Indian, Chinese, Thai dishes for the main meal. I must admit quite a few of these dishes taste the same and were not as good as I hoped. Some of the dishes were very bland and tasted as if they were made from same curry sauce bought from supermarket.
They also have a selection of English dishes but the look and taste of some of these dishes put me off trying. For example roast chicken and baked Salmon looked very dry as if they were cooked first thing in the morning and untouched ever since. Verdict: AVERAGE

The selection of fruit and desserts were very nice. They also have a chocolate fountain, really nice indeed. Verdict: VERY GOOD

For main meal dishes, I give 3-stars. Overall I would give four stars for the entire evening.

Would we go back again? May be......

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sidwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice Oven also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The Spice Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing