We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average restaurant, neither disappointed nor impressed”
Review of Bel and The Dragon

Bel and The Dragon
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel and The Dragon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 622 Restaurants in Reading
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Average restaurant, neither disappointed nor impressed”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Extremely nice and help staff
Food portions are huge and the meals my guest and I ordered didn't really need additional sides, but the food tasted good. Nothing impressive, but it was still enjoyable.
Their range of wines to choose from is just perfect.
Nice ambience too.

I'll visit here again, but it won't be on top of my list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    205
    103
    58
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A plate would be nice”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Food was nice enough but I really have an issue with food being served on a chopping board for the reasons I'm about to explain. Food came with gravy. Tables are not put in place with a spirit level however when the food is served on a chopping board it goes over the sides onto the table. Cauliflower having a round top tolled straight off and onto the floor. Otherwise nice enough. I just want my food served on a bloody plate. Chopping boards are for chopping plates are for eating. For this reason it's put me off going again. Food was nice enough. Well what managed to stay on the board.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love Bel and the Dragon!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Bel and the Dragon is one of my favourite restaurants in Reading, the staff are amazing, the food is great. I don't eat meat so always have veggie options or fish and it's always delicious, and a friend of mine said the steak he had here was the best he had and worth the price tag!
My favourite thing is the heritage beet root and burrata starter. I could eat that all day!

They do a magnum of house wine (which is very good wine, either red or white) for a good price, and you only have to pay for what you drink. And the Bloody Caesar is bloody delicious ( as are all the cocktails I've tried)

The building itself is gorgeous, and right by the canal and in summer you can sit outside
If my boyfriend is paying I always suggest this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalaveraTattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch but silly prices for sundries”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The food and service were great today, however my husband and I managed to spend £13.00 on a few olives, some bread and water! In my book that is a serious mark up at any restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cpluspluslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellent menu with some outstanding choices of meats. Wine list good with surprisingly good 'by the glass' choices. Attentive service of quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKFOXY45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel and The Dragon also viewed

 

Been to Bel and The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing