We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect birthday meal”
Review of Myalacarte - CLOSED

Myalacarte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Came here for my birthday on Monday night and got treated so well by the waiter. We had the daily meal offer and were very pleased with it! Onion soup was glorious and the cod was lovely! I would deffinately suggest to order the vegetable crisps with tomato salsa as was the nicest we have ever had and the chef came to explain the ingredients so we could make it outselves. We were reccomended to come here and considering the ammount of restaurents in this area I am very glad I decided to have my birthday meal at myalacarte.
The chef personally brought out a plate of "happy birthday" written in chocolate with a little treat on the side which I very much appreciatied.
Thank you again. I will deffinately return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SPBHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattmya, Manager at Myalacarte, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi

Thanks so much to come and celebrate your special occasion at Mya. We feel privilaged you choose us and can only thank you for your kind comments.
Justin, the chef, passes on his thanks too! He also loves the Salsa! You should see his moves! ;)
Look forward to greeting you again soon.

Happy bday for Wednesday!

All the very best,
the Mya Team xXx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (777)
There are newer reviews for Myalacarte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 399 of 777 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Visited last Thursday as we were heading to the open air cinema in Caversham Court Gardens and wanted some great food before. Booked here, got told by friends in Reading how good it is and it didnt disappoint! Food excellent flavours. Staff attentive, genuine and interested. Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattmya, Manager at Myalacarte, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi Matt

Thank you so much for spending the time to write a review of Mya Lacarte. We are thrilled you enjoyed yourselves. Next time you're in Reading, please do pay us another visit. we'd be delighted to have you back.

All the very best,
the Mya Team xXx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Visited a couple of times now and as per the last time the food was extremely tast, well proportioned and tasty seasonal fayre. The staff are very friendly and attentive and have mastered the art of gauging when you need to order.

The restaurant itself has a really nice ambience and is conveniently located in Caversham, with parking either behind the Weatherspoons Pub or in the Waitrose car park. A great place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ISWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattmya, Manager at Myalacarte, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Hi there

Great Food, Great staff ..... Great review! We are honoured that you have visited us on a few occasions now, and again we want to thank you for the time you have taken to write of review of Mya. The staff have all been forwarded your comments and they all pass on their sincere thanks.
Really look forward to greeting you once more!

All the very best
the Mya Team xXx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Four of us went for the first time yesterday evening for a family birthday. Myalacarte definitely lived up to the excellent reviews we'd heard - a very pleasant all-round experience. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable, but not overly familiar or haughty; the restaurant felt intimate and relaxed (and lighting was just right - so important!); we were not rushed to order or eat in any way; and the food was plentiful and l beautiful, in both presentation and taste.

Some lovely extra touches we all commented on: when my sister made the booking she was asked if it was for a special occasion - it was a birthday, and they greeted mum with 'happy birthday' when we entered, brought out a simple but elegant decorated 'happy birthday' written in chocolate with a little treat at the end of the meal; a jug of free tap water was immediately placed on the table after we were seated.

Will be returning and recommending myself!

2  Thank Sian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattmya, Manager at Myalacarte, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Hi Sian

It's always a bit nervy when expectations are set high but when met, we feel extremely pleased. And of course we aim to meet these expectations on a daily basis so we are thrilled with your review. The little touches are our pleasure, as we consider everyone's birthday to be a very special occasion. We are honoured that you choose Mya Lacarte to celebrate on this occasion, and really do hope that you visit again soon.

All the very best and thanks once again

Love the Mya Team xXx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have been to Myalacarte a few times (going for my Birthday this weekend) and I love it, the food is always perfect and I love the non intrusive yet very friendly and efficient service you are always guaranteed when you go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattmya, Manager at Myalacarte, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Hey Natalie

To say Mya Lacarte is your favourite restaurant is very humbling indeed. This puts a great smile on our face as it proves we are doing something right. We have been open for many years now, and the fact that you come back again and again really means so much to us.
Hope you enjoyed your birthday meal the other night and hope to see you soon.

All the very best,
the Mya Team xXx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myalacarte also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing