We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently wonderful”
Review of The Bladebone Inn

The Bladebone Inn
Ranked #24 of 624 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $42
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: EAT, DRINK & ENJOY !!... Beautiful Country Pub in stunning location... boasting a large garden & stone patio perfect for those summer evenings!! Creative British menu with daily specials & lighter lunch-time offerings... Amazing food, stunning wines, Visual stimulating environment with real ales and exellent service to boot!! we look forward to seeing you all soon
Reading, UK
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Tried to get in on Saturday but fully booked, tried to get in on Sunday for lunch, still fully booked but room was found for us in the bar. I think the popularity is deserving. We had pea and ham soup, smoked salmon with wasabi, lime, garden herbs and beetroot, I also had seared scallops with honey glazed pork belly, sea lettuce and pear. It was all delicious, water was brought to the table and toast came with butter. We had a pint of a great local beer, Good Old Boy and a couple of pints of Pimms which were lovely. For our main course we had venison, Roast beef and belly pork, all came with all the trimmings. Service was fantastic, food delicious and we will be back as soon as possible.

I notice that they are doing some theme nights which I am sure will be amazing and worth checking out on their website, I am hoping for an Arabic evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leilaferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    85
    35
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious food, well sourced, recommended”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Came here for Sunday lunch, definitely one of the best. Had the rabbit starter with truffle gnocchi, rabbit was a little dry but tasty dish overall. OH had crispy duck egg which was rich and unctuous. Great roast beef main, and the little details make all the difference, including yorkies stuffed with mustard leek, bacon and chicken filling, delicious. Beef was succulent and very well seasoned. OH had perfectly cooked venison.

Dessert of Assiette of chocolate which was gorgeous, OH a coffee Panna Cotta which was very tasty.

Service was very friendly but a tad slow, however on a busy day they managed to fit us in without booking.

Also a couple of good Berkshire ales on tap, always a bonus.

If you're looking for a great Sunday lunch which won't break the bank, highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juggsy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and great service”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This little country pub is a hidden gem! The food is absolutely fabulous, and the prices are very reasonable. Great staff and a very friendly welcome. Don't miss it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Meryl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I visited last night on way back home from Reading. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Food was great, husband had fish and chips and I had slow pork belly. Both were lovely especially the triple cooked chips. They had a good varied menu. Chose a chocolate dessert which when ordered the chef came out to explain contained raw egg, and as I am pregnant could not really have. He was really nice about it and great to see the chef out talking to diners. Offered us some ice cream instead - great service. We will go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank claire_loves_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely meal ath the Blade Bone Inn. My husband did complain that the menu was very extensive however, I actually preferred this as it made feel that the food here was freshly cooked, unlike some of the chains (even the very good ones) that you might go to. They did have some old favourites, Sausage & Mash but the ingredients used were not your bog standard. I had the duck and enjoyed evey mouthful. My husband had steak which he also enjoyed. I then had the coffee panacotta which was also delicious. The only downside was that although the staff were very polite and attentive when we first arrived, once they got busy they did seem to take a long time to come to us especially for the desserts. I would certainly go back again, but not sure about hubby....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bladebone Inn also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
Frilsham, Berkshire
 

Been to The Bladebone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing