We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good homemade pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pepe Sale

Pepe Sale
Ranked #21 of 614 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $48
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Offering a vibrant, nutritious selection of historic Sardinian recipes and modern Italian dishes, Pepe Sale is an award-winning eatery in the centre of Reading. As well as premium staples like home-made fresh pasta and typical bread and wines, delicious house specialities showcase a wealth of culinary experience. A bright dining room features retro green and white tiling, a pastel orange colour palette and glossy granite-topped tables.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very good homemade pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The mains of pasta were brilliant! The pasta is clearly homemade, very very taste and cooked perfectly. The salmon pasta has a delicious taste of salmon with creamy texture and delicious texture. One of the best pastas I have eaten. The chef is really nice and friendly. However, be ready to patiently wait to be served, the service does take its time :)
Congratulations to the chef!

Price: bread, 1 starter, 2 mains, 1 bottle of wine - 50£

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoaoTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    104
    27
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
177 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Friendly, authentic Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My daughter and I recently ate here when down in Reading for an uni open day. It was actually right by our hotel.

The service was excellent, bread very,very tasty. Homemade savoury and sweet pasta dishes which you don't see in many places.

The wine I chose was not available so followed the waiter's advice and it was an excellent match for my food.

Inside the restaurant is quite large, think it could do with a bit of an update and softer lighting, but overall did not detract from the experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merlin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capel Saint Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“How Restaurants Should Be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

An excellent little Italian restaurant, how they all should be. I used to frequent this restaurant a lot when I was regularly in Reading on business. I am pleased to say that it is still as good as ever. Not the best location in Reading, but do go search it out, you will not be disappointed. Very helpful and attentive staff, nothing was too much of a problem for them. My wife is on a gluten and onion free diet and they were happy to adapt her choices so that she could really enjoy her meal. Personally I would recommend the suckling piglet if you are there on a Friday or Saturday evening, and my wife would recommend the Sea Bass baked in a salt crust.

This is a restaurant I will keep coming back to when I am in the Reading area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like Italian restaurants used to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very simple, no nonsense Italian restaurant. Great food, great service. It was a horrible Friday evening but the place was busy and atmosphere good. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham0532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Although not in a great area, don't be put off - the food here is excellent, as is the service. Really friendly and welcoming.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HB525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Sale also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Pepe Sale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing