We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, quiet, good value - I was very happy.”
Review of Thameside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thameside Hotel
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed January 28, 2010

The service was friendly, the room was great the hotel was quiet and well run. I have been very happy both times that I have stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2009

I wanted to find a lower cost hotel for a business trip in the Reading area and stumbled over the Thameside on the internet - it ticked all the right boxes for me. I am reluctant to pay for the crown plaza and the other more expensive hotels in the Reading area for a one night stop over, and considering I did not arrive at the hotel until 9pm and was leaving early the next morning, paying £200+ is not good business sense.
The Thameside was a great choice. The staff could not do enough to help.
--- Breakfast: ---
A buffet or full English breakfast was available, endless supply of fresh coffee and fresh toast was available. Spotlessly clean and smart decor in the dining area.
--- Room:---
Spotlessly clean and modern ensuite shower/bathroom. Large LCD TV and seperate Aircon, coffee and tea making facilties in the room. My only fault with the room was the windows could not open to allow fresh air into the room.
The bed was very comfortable and the room very large compared to some of the 4 or 5 star hotels in the vicinity.
A very large workspace with stacks of power points was located in front of the window overlooking the mainstreet - so plenty of space to lay out my paperwork and laptop.
Outside:
As a smoker, there was a covered veranda at the front of the hotel where I sat till midnight, drinking some great red wines from a bar that closed when the last person left.
Also in the morning it was a real godsend. I spent a couple of hours on the veranda with my laptop (and endless supply of coffee) until it was time to go to work.
I had the standard room and there is an Executive room available for an extra £10, but I found the room was perfect for what I needed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed here Sunday 3rd - Tuesday 5th August 2008 and were very pleased with the hotel.

The rooms are lovely with air conditioning and a large TV with freeview. There was plenty of drawer/cupboard space and a comfortable bed.

Breakfast is a small selection of cereal, fruit juice and croissants with a further selection of cooked breakfast items which were cooked fresh.

One thing we were disappointed with was the bar could not open on the Sunday night because there was no-one on site with a licence, however, ther is a lovely riverside bar a short walk away,

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

The hotel was locked when I first arrived and I had all but given up trying to get an answer when your receptionist finally appeared. She then decided to get involved in a lengthy phone conversation which clearly had nothing to do with booking a guest in. The whole impression was lax and unprofessional. It conveys the impression of being a hotel that one would not wish to stay in

After a substantial wait I decided to go elsewhere. The hotel was informed but still billed us. I would never recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GuestMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanti1, Manager at Thameside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2008

In response to the above review:
We apologise that this particular guest was unsatisfied with our customer service, however, we try our best to please all of our customers and this shows with the amount of guests returning to our hotel on a regular basis. In this case this guest was the unfortunate person who had to wait just a little longer than we would have liked, being over 3 minutes.

With regards to this issue that has been raised, We feel that we have done nothing wrong but to expect a guest to be a little patient. We have implemented higher security levels for the safety of our customers and our staff, which involve a video intercom at the rear of the hotel.

The receptionist on duty was engaged in a hotel related telephone conversation, and it was unfortunate that the guests' arrival coincided with this call and gave the guest the impression of a hotel that they would not wish to stay in, but our establishment was hardly given a chance.

We reviewed the event from our CCTV footage and we feel there was no direct problem with our hotel but we do take every persons opinions into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2007

Our family of 4, with our children aged 15 and 17, stayed at the Thameside for 5 days during a school speaking competition. It is perfectly located within a few minutes walk of the large shopping centre, The Oracle, as well as the train station, which can be used easily to get to surrounding sites. During soccer season, there is easy bus access to the stadium.
Pub restaurants in the vicinity give good home cooked-style meals and the Thameside itself has good meals.
We particularly enjoyed the family who runs the hotel. They are helpful, gracious people who are knowledgeable about the area and give good advice. The wireless connection was very helpful.
I would highly recommend the two apartments at the back of the hotel. Easy to access from the parking lot at the back and very nicely appointed, with well-supplied kitchens. The website photos are very representative of the appearance of the hotel.
We would definitely stay again and although we were there during the off-season, I would consider using it as a central point to visit the southwest of England--Oxford, Stonehenge, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JanineWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel three times now. The rooms have all appeared lovely, with a comfortable bed and quiet air conditioning. Unfortuantely noise from the road is a little loud at the front of the building.

The rooms are well decorated, containing all you'd expect, but some of the finishing are past their best (e.g. shelves with laminate peeling off). The bathrooms are all dated (coloured suites), but despite their age, the showers are nice and powerful.

The breakfast was disappointing. The pastries all look appetising, but don't believe your eyes, they were tasteless. Bad marks for bringing out soggy toast!

On the plus side, free parking is nice and handy, especially as the road in front is pretty busy almost all the time.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
0.5 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.5 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
548 reviews
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thameside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thameside Hotel

Address: 144-150 Caversham Road, Reading RG1 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#9 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range: $120 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thameside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thameside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thameside Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing