We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central location for Reading town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thameside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thameside Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good central location for Reading town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here on business for 1 night. Free parking at rear of hotel - had to ask hotel how to get to car park though.
Really friendly owner who seemed to be doing everything, check-in, serving coffee, answering phone. Next morning serving breakfast handling check-in and check out - nothing was too much trouble.
Very warm room with a comfortable bed.
Free WI-FI which worked !
Very handy for shops & restaurants in town.

Good freshly cooked breakfast - nice coffee.
Would recommend if visiting Reading and want centrally located family run hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    35
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
14
18
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I only stayed here for one night, but I was completely satisfied with everything.

There is a well lit and convenient car park at the rear of the hotel which is great as it is difficult to park in the local streets, it is free as well - always a positive.

There was a very friendly greeting at reception and it was like there was nothing that was a bother. They have an area to eat, and a bar with a selection of drinks to choose from. It has a very welcoming feel overall.

I was shown to my room on the first floor, and it was ideal for the purpose, an ironing board, hair dryer, flat-screen TV, and plenty of power sockets, which is a big problem I have in hotel rooms these days!

My bed was comfy and the room clean and warm. Just what you need.

I was shown the evening menu, and I ordered a meal that was delivered to my room. It was absolutely delicious and I later found out that it was cooked by the owner - my compliments go to her completely!

The Thameside Hotel is a great place to stay and very well priced - I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

You can't miss the red-fronted cafe-enticing frontend of this hotel along the busy Caversham road, literally 10-15 mins walk from the station (vastern road exit),(once you navigate the entrance), and 5 min taxi ride to the centre. form Vastern road, dual carriageway, make you way to the left (east) cross over, take caversham road..and....2 mins later. Be Aware..pavements are thin along this dual carriageway
The end of the side road leads to the Thames (3-min walk). Don;t be fooled by name, it won;t offer views of the river

The Radiator should have been set under the window let alone at the ceiling, and this really could make a difference despite the thoughtful touch of large air gap double glazing, thus a warm clothing is advised on at least some rooms seasonal-depending

Nevertheless, complimentary tea/coffee upon stay is typcial of the family-run hotel of the rooms, with wooden flooring at times, large draped windows, with additional warm-coloured curtains.and bedlinen, with period-copy wardrobes. Bathrooms had nice touches seemed to have 4-star decor, budgeted with top-end B&q fixings, not that this is a necessarily a criticism, as wear & tear must be accounted for
Overall this feels like a over-priced (£79GBP standard tarif) yet very warm & friendly B&B

Room Tip: Rooms 14-24 include steps & /or stairs,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thamesreading, General Manager at Thameside Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.I was obviously disappointed to read your comments on the River views, radiator and over priced room tariff.I am sorry on this occasion
we have not met your expectations.

However,I would like to clarify the raditor on the celing is an air conditioning unit.There is a further radiator on the wall in the bedroom which is a source of central heating.The Hotel had beautiful river views until there are private flats built at the rear. Our aim is to give the best value and service to all our guest you choose to stay at the Thameside Hotel.

Thank you for letting us know your thoughts

Very best wishes
Shanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed for one night for business purposes. A very friendly and accomodating welcome from all staff. The room itself was well appointed and very clean, if not a little on the chilly side - though I did not use the provided wall mounted heater, so I suppose that's my own fault :-)
I'll be staying here again, primarily due to the attitude from the staff - who created a very positive impression all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I've been staying in this hotel every week for the last 18 months. It's a very friendly family run hotel with exceptional service, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is just 5 mins from the main train station and a short 10mins walk to the main high street shopping area. Being close to the Thames there are pleasant walks alongside the river. The rooms have everything you need for a short stay, including free wifi, although all rooms are double glazed if you are sensitive to traffic noise then ask for a room to the rear. Ample car parking is available which is accessed down a side street and up a very narrow entry behind the hotel. The hotel owners (Julie & Brian) do all of the cooking themselves with specials on most evenings which I would highly recommend. The breakfast has a wide variety which to choose from, with everything cooked to your individual requirements and taste.
It's nice to see a non-chain family run business which is a credit to all who work there and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter and away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffees_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Bit of a gamble here as I normally stay in the Crowne Plaza, but wow why didn't I stay here before ???? This almost 'boutique' hotel just exceeds customer service expectations, family run with passion and a 100% can do to satisfy attitude is just amazing. Rooms clean and functional, parking free and safe, and a great curry if you choose to dine in the restaurant.

One of the few assets Reading has to offer !

Well done and thank you ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mapmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Not to be underestimated, this hotel offers all the comforts of a large chain, with triple the personality. A relaxed and clean environment, the owners could not do any more to make sure your stay is pleasure. If your passing by, or here for work, it's a true home away from home.

Also to note, welcoming to all walks of life. My partner and I had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
0.5 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thameside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thameside Hotel

Property: Thameside Hotel
Address: 144-150 Caversham Road, Reading RG1 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#9 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thameside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your Thameside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thameside Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing