We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Reading Centre
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Reading
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable bed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Ibis is essentially a fairly budget hotel but I was really impressed; the bed was really comfortable (great pillows) and I like the 'bathroom pod'. It's cheap and cheerful with no frills but I had a better night's sleep than I've had in some more expensive hotels. Quiet, clean, warm, good breakfast and friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay at the Ibis Reading Centre
We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and you liked our new beds.
I will pass on your comments to the team as well
Regards
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    451
    184
    56
    34
See reviews for
91
213
147
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Really great service & friendly staff! Nothing is too much trouble! Reading is brilliant & this hotel is very central & convenient location-comfy beds & spacious room! even after we'd checked out we could leave our bags in luggage room as we were not catching our train home until the evening :0)

Room Tip: the view from the 12th floor is great! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaHildo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback
We are delighted you had an excellent stay with us, and hoep to welcome you back soon
Regards
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here a couple of times with work as it's handy for our Reading office. The new beds in the Ibis are deliciously comfortable and I would have quite happily stayed in it all day! The rest of the hotel is pretty much what you would expect for a budget chain hotel, which is perfectly fine for a night ot two.
However, the deal I was booked in on included dinner at the Novotel next door. The first time I had steak which was fine, but more recently I had a burger there and it was vile - can't say it any nicer than that! It was tasteless and rubbery and made me a little naseous for the rest of the evening. Ate around a quarter of it, asked for the bill and left; too sick to complain!
In short, happy to stay in the hotel again, but I'll be eating elsewhere!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebelle1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, Front Office Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them.

Kind regards,

Krishnam Addala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice hotel with comfortable stay. Slightly compact room, could have done better with double beds than twin beds. Overall nice value for money. Near to Rly station and other local attractions.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank RajAjmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, Front Office Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Ajmani

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Krishnam Addala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

A very reasonable priced modern budget hotel in the centre of Reading with friendly staff. We travelled to Reading by train and it is within few minutes walk of the station. There is some occasional room noise from the room above. We were to be picked up by car next morning when it was raining heavily, but our driver could not reach the hotel due to traffic restrictions in the centre of Reading. It would have been helpful to have on the website the pedestrian route to the hotel from the station and the drop off and pick up route for private cars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dourobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Reading Centre.
Kind regards
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

If all you need is a good bed, this place is quite ok. Do not expect lots of fancy stuff, but would you actually for the price you have to pay for a night ? So good beds, with efficienty showers and a desk to be able to work at. Enough sockets for the roadwarriors and a TV with 10 channels. That's it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tijnovth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Reading Centre.
Kind regards
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

No problems at all apart from a little walk from the designated car park to the hotel entrance. Don't forget to get the car park card stamped otherwise it is £17 for 24 hrs and not the £10 it should be. Other than that little moan everything was fine and what I needed. No frills and better than a Travelodge all in all. Good location as it is very central too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Matt7731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review.
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Reading Centre

Property: Ibis Reading Centre
Address: 25 Friar Street | Reading Station, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Reading Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Reading Centre is 2 min from the train station and the pubs of Friar Street, and 30 min by train from London Paddington. Heathrow airport is accessible in 30 min via the M4 and Gatwick in 70 min by train. 10 min from Madejski Stadium and Green Park, 20 min from Legoland, the hotel has 182 rooms with air cooling. It also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours and wireless Internet access for guests on business stays. Public undercover parking close by at discounted rates for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Reading Centre Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing