We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Reading Centre
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Reading
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Standard Accor facility but what's more important is their staffs are highly professional and exceptionally helpful.
I arrived after a long journey and found a document missing and I needed to print out, the lady on duty she offered me help and had my document ready on time. Second day after the meeting I found my earring gone missing and went back to ask if they had found anything - the lady on the front desk didn't take it lightly and she followed up for few times with the housekeeping staff.
This is a kind of service I wish to receive in every single ACCOR hotel.

Minus - No WIFI in room. I don't mind to pay, I just wish to have that convenience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jk0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Reading Centre.
Kind regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    474
    196
    59
    41
See reviews for
98
225
159
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Ibis is great for a night out as it is ideally situated 4 minutes from the train station and the Oracle. There are plenty of places to eat, as well as fast food restuarants and bars/clubs. The hotel sell hot food as well as snacks and alcohol, we found the menu to be very reasonably priced.

We all commented on how comfortable the beds were and though the rooms were basic, they were clean and suitable for what we needed them for.

We would not usually choose this type of hotel however for value for money and cleanliness we could not complain.

It is worth mentioning that we only paid £40 for a double room, however this was an advanced booking which upped to £80 on the Ibis website when we wanted to book a second room. The Hilton is worth a visit for around £60 and is just outside Reading town center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Reading Centre very soon.
Kind regards
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I received a discounted rate so the value was superb. The rooms were clean and everyone in my group of friends had a fantastic stay. The only issue i has was that the concierge did not know the area well enough to give directions. Other than that, FANTASTIC stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmessier83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Reading Centre very soon.
Kind regards
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed in the Reading Ibis for a business trip for one night and all the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. A definite recommendation from me for this budget hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathamley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, Front Office Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Hotel in Reading Centre.

Kind regards,

Krishnam Addala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2012

3 minutes walk from the station and right in the town centre suited me very well. The hotel has a small bar which gave it a bit more personality than some budget hotels. Hesitating for a couple of days before booking put the price up by about £20, making it less good value than it might have been.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bassett44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here.
I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Reading Centre very soon.
Kind regards
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hotel in the centre of town.Was on the 14th floor only one lift working.Staff very nice and helpful.Not happy about having to use plastic spoons to stir our hot drinks,while stirring my hot chocolate the soon mellted.
When i reported it to reception she thought it was funny.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23joyful23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis Reading Centre.
I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,837 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
1.0 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Reading Centre

Property: Ibis Reading Centre
Address: 25 Friar Street | Reading Station, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Reading Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Reading Centre is 2 min from the train station and the pubs of Friar Street, and 30 min by train from London Paddington. Heathrow airport is accessible in 30 min via the M4 and Gatwick in 70 min by train. 10 min from Madejski Stadium and Green Park, 20 min from Legoland, the hotel has 182 rooms with air cooling. It also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours and wireless Internet access for guests on business stays. Public undercover parking close by at discounted rates for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Reading Centre Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing