We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Reading Centre
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Reading
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 13, 2012

3 minutes walk from the station and right in the town centre suited me very well. The hotel has a small bar which gave it a bit more personality than some budget hotels. Hesitating for a couple of days before booking put the price up by about £20, making it less good value than it might have been.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bassett44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here.
I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Reading Centre very soon.
Kind regards
Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Reading Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hotel in the centre of town.Was on the 14th floor only one lift working.Staff very nice and helpful.Not happy about having to use plastic spoons to stir our hot drinks,while stirring my hot chocolate the soon mellted.
When i reported it to reception she thought it was funny.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23joyful23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis Reading Centre.
I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards
Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed several times at the IBIS hotel centre in Reading and have been always very satisfied with the rooms and breakfast buffet. The location is close to shops, post office, train-station and the bus to Heathrow airport, all in a few minutes walking-distance. The only slightly negative side is that there are very few TV-stations available.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Guest

So glad you had an enjoyable time at Ibis Reading Centre!
We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis in Reading for 4 days while we were catching up with family and found it to be a convenient location for the railway station and central Reading shops. The room was smaller than expected, but once we overcame this it was ok. Mattress was very good and pillows comfortable, so want more do you need? Service was good, and staff were helpful. Breakfast was not included and we paid an extra £7.95 each for this, which I think is over priced considering there are plenty of other good offerings close by where you can get 2 x meals for the price of one at the Ibis. But overall, good value for the price.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the building next door and others have a view of the town.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear guest

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Reading Centre.
Kind regards
Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel is just a two minute walk from the station and is a five minute walk from all sorts of shops an restaurants. The staff were friendly and the bed was very comfortable. On the downside, the phone reception on two networks was TERRIBLE inside the hotel. There's no wifi in the rooms and the wifi in the lobby is £4 an hour. The room was not the cleanest I had ever seen- although not terrible and the heating was a little lax. I had mine on full blast all night to be comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayberryLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them.
Kind regards
Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkFriedEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

It's a budget hotel with excellent value for money. The hotel is located at a walking distance from Reading Railway Station and Oracle Mall. The entire set up is very tidy and well maintained (although the hotel seems to be shadowed by adjacent Novotel, which is an upper range hotel). The room and bathroom are small but very well designed. The heating system is good. The shower pressure was excellent. On the negative side, there is no electronic safe and no gym in the hotel. Overall it's an excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floors are recommended if you want to avoid noise pollution.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mutaiyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis Reading Centre again very soon.
Kind regards
Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,022 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,861 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Reading Centre

Address: 25 Friar Street | Reading Station, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reading
Price Range: $61 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Reading Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Reading Centre is 2 min from the train station and the pubs of Friar Street, and 30 min by train from London Paddington. Heathrow airport is accessible in 30 min via the M4 and Gatwick in 70 min by train. 10 min from Madejski Stadium and Green Park, 20 min from Legoland, the hotel has 182 rooms with air cooling. It also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours and wireless Internet access for guests on business stays. Public undercover parking close by at discounted rates for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Reading Centre Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing