We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Reading Centre
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Reading
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
258 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing hotel”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is nice and relaxing and right in the city center of Reading. It's just 5 minutes walking distance away from the Reading main train station where also the RailAir bus with a direct connection to London Heathrow airport terminals 1, 2, 3 and 5 stops. For 22 UK pounds you can buy a return ticket for this bus. It has free wifi and takes about 1 hour for the trip. At the same location there's also a stop for the free bus service to Thames Valey Park where i.e. the Microsoft and Oracle offices reside.

The hotel itself is trendy and clean and has typical Novotel style rooms which are very nice. The hotel also has a sauna and swimming pool in the basement. If you want to use it, you have to sign an insane health check waiver. There's free wifi internet throughout the hotel. The quality is decent. With quite a few drops of the connection, it does allow for web browsing and e-mailing, but is not very well suitable for watching video streams, voip calling or other intensive data usage.

The breakfast has a good variety of food and is pleasurable against a decent price. Having dinner in the hotel restaurant is okay. Prices are quite high and it takes a long time before the food is served. It's more of the stylish nice decorated plates type than something to get stuffed with. I was still hungry after 2 courses anyway. There are enough places for dinner at really close walking distance with much better prices.

Around the corner there's also a Primark clothing store. Always nice for a visit.

All in all a good place to stay and would visit it again when being in Reading.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NL_Koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui M, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Novotel Reading. I am sorry about the speed of service you experienced in the evenings and I will look into this matter.However I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    484
    167
    35
    21
See reviews for
203
309
121
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

whenever i visit Reading i stayed in Novotel ... very nice rooms and service ... food is great however they are not offer Halal food which i would strongly recommend to add in food menu soon ... overall ... excellent service and very helpful and friendly staff .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhmedAdel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui M, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself during your stay at Novotel Reading. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A smart, clean well appointed hotel.
Situated in the centre of Reading very close to the main shopping centre and 5 minutes walk to the railway station.

The rooms are smart and clean, the breakfast is excellent and the staff are outstanding. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. It can sometimes be noisy at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firtoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui M, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my husband for an event in Reading. We are fairly local but wanted to stay overnight and I chose the Novotel purely because they had vacancies it looked quite nice and the cost was reasonable. I was absolutely overjoyed with our stay. From the minute we arrived we were welcomed warmly, our room was brilliant, double room with sofa and the bathroom had a bath and a separate shower cubicle, the shower was amazingly powerful. The staff remained completely friendly throughout at reception and the bar. The breakfast was very costly but the quality and choice of food could not be faulted. I would most definitely stay at this hotel again without a shadow of a doubt.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 403 which was on the 4th floor, it was really quiet we never heard a peep from eit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui M, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you would recommend us to your friends. The team will be so pleased to hear such positive feedback as it serves as great motivation for them to continue to deliver great service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, Berkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night for an event in Reading. The staff welcomed us from the minute we arrived to the point of leaving, so friendly. The room was very spacious and clean the bathroom was great as not only did we have a bath but also a free standing shower which was very powerful and hot. A truly amazing stay and would definitely go back again. The staff worked so hard and always had a smile to give to you. Well done

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenCWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui M, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback which we really appreciate at the hotel and the team were delighted to read your review. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon to Novotel Reading. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I spent two nights on business and booked into the Novotel not expecting much for a city centre hotel but was pleasantly surprised. The room was OK for a standard one. The shower was a pain because it kept sliding down on the pole mechanism but was bearable and the floor wasn't the cleanest: Room 405 if you want to send the deep-cleaners in. I did plan on going out for dinner but the bad weather kept me in so I decided to eat in the restaurant. The menu was interesting because it tried not to be the typical business hotel menu. I normally budget dinner on around £25 for 3 courses with a glass of wine but not possible here. However what I ordered was really great. Sticky lemon chicken was very very good. Not sure what was sticky about it apart from the price. I never eat dessert but succumbed to a very clever marketing ploy. Instead of getting a dessert menu they put the desserts on a tray and put it under your nose and say 'would you like a dessert' so your immediate reaction is to point at what looked nice so you're not able to resist. Not complaining as the treacle tart was lovely.

I mislaid my mobile so called my number from the room but couldn't hear it ringing. Eventually found it back in the restaurant. When checking out I had been charged £2 for the pleasure of calling a number which was unanswered which was cheeky but they took it off the bill.

I never pay for hotel breakfast as I am always gobsmacked at the prices hotels charge. Nearly £16 quid in this case.

All said though I would certainly stay there again.

And please Jacqui M: Please don't bother responding to this review if all you can do is copy and paste from previous responses. It's so impersonal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinRimmerBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui M, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which we really appreciate. I will certainly be addressing the issues you experienced with the bathroom in room 405 immediately to prevent this happening again. I will feedback to our Food & Beverage committee your comments with regards to the price of our menu but thanks for your lovely comments about the variety and that you enjoyed the treacle tart which is a favourite on this menu. I look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Reading in the future. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Reading Centre

Property: Novotel Reading Centre
Address: 25B Friar Street, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Reading
#2 Green Hotel in Reading
#4 Business Hotel in Reading
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Reading Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Generation 4 star hotel with leisure club located in Reading town centre. Just 2 min. walk from the railway station: 25 min to London Paddington, 30 min Rail-Air link to Heathrow airport, free shuttle to Thames Valley Park. A short drive to the M4, other business parks and Reading FC stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Reading Centre Hotel Reading
Accor Reading Centre
Reading Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing