We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the Heart of the Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Forbury Roseate
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“At the Heart of the Town”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in a 2 room suite complete with a kitchen (not needed as the town is on the doorstep and the hotel restaurant produces the best breakfast Eggs Benedict I have tasted). The staff are polite and helpfull but parking space is so tight in the hotel carpark that one has to leave car keys at reception so that they can shuffle the motors about. The hotel location could not be anymore central to Reading's superb shops, eateries and wonderful museum and the town has an exciting air on a Saturday evening as the many pubs and bars fill. The only downside was getting stuck in the bathroom of our suite when the sliding door mechanism failed, a call to maintenance fixed it but we were somewhat perplexed to be told that this had happened to the previous guests too!

Room Tip: There are two parts to this hotel and the rooms in both are very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripkit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    85
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
57
238
20
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here twice during the past few months and really enjoyed our visit. The rooms are excellent, really well furnished and have Bang and Olufsen TV/HiFi system, plus there are CDs supplied for back ground music in the room. We had afternoon tea which was really good, lovely sandwiches and huge selection of cakes. The Cerise restaurant was also excellent and we enjoyed our meals on both occasions. You must also spend some time sat at the bar sampling some of the extensive range of cocktails! All in all would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

From the moment you step out of your car, a friendly member of staff is there to care for your every need.
The hotel is beautiful both inside and out and our junior suite was equipped with high spec gadgets including a coffee machine and , more impressively for my husband, a Bag and Olfsen sound system piped into the bathroom.
the bed and sofa were plush and extremely comfortable and the Molton Brown bath accessories were amazing.
We were impressed by the beautiful Cerise bar on site where mixologist talked us through the menu to ensure we chose a drink to our liking.
although we did not dine that evening in the hotel, the breakfast the following morning was superb, fresh and delicious.
absolutely recommend this wonderful place to everyone.

Room Tip: we stayed in a junior suite which was specious, comfortable, quiet and high spec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is the most beautiful hotel, came here to celebrate my husbands 80th birthday, as his family live in the area. Had dinner one evening absolutely lovely. The staff in the hotel are probably the best I have ever come across, friendly , professional, and nothing too much trouble for them. The manager was always there and very friendly. There is nothing negative that I can say about this hotel. So near to th train station, lovely park opposite. Wishiwas sill there. Thank you everyone at the forbury

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goring-on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a one night stay in a junior suite which was beautifully presented. The room was a good size and had a fantastic bathroom. A proper 5 star boutique hotel.

The staff were very professional and polite and nothing was too much trouble.

The Forbury is located slap bang in the middle of Reading, so nothing was more than a 6/7 minute walk away.

We fully intent to have another stay at The Forbury in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Surprise weekend arranged by family for my 65th birthday. Beautiful hotel, excellent service, could not do more for us. Wonderful family lunch on Sunday - food could not be faulted. Staff very efficient and attentive - went out of their way to make our stay perfect. Would highly recommend this hotel not only for excellent service and attention to detail but within walking distance of good range of shops and restaurants in Reading town centre. Would certainly visit again. And many thanks for my wonderful family for arranging such a treat! Sue Morris 7th/8th September 2013.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue6810646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just returned from an 11-day stay in a two-bedroom flat, the sister property to the hotel, attached at the back of the property. The location was excellent within easy walking distance to the shops and train station. Also the layout of the flat was great, two-bedroom, two and half bathrooms. Nice to have the space while travelling as a family of four.

On the downside though the flat was very poorly equipped. Only 4 small mismatched plates, a few bowls and cups, one bread knife etc. I felt like I was constantly having to call the reception at the hotel to ask for basic items to be provided. Why don't they do an inventory before the guests arrive - this was very annoying. For example, I was told by reception that there was only one bread knife because guests kept stealing the other knives....within an hour or two though they did delivery a new knife set that looked like they just ran out an bought it. We tend to stay in flats or cottages while we are travelling as it is more convenient so I know what to expect when renting a self catering flat and this was very much lacking. Although the staff were responsive when we called it was so frustrating to realize you needed something and have to call and wait for it to be delivered, if they were able to. I soon just gave up and made do.

Also there are two bathrooms with showers in the property but we soon discovered you couldn't have two showers going at the same time as it stopped the water going on in one of the showers. I mentioned this to the reception and she said that they most likely wouldn't be able to fix this as it was a much bigger issue.

Another issue which perhaps is a building issue is all the doors made a really loud click sound everytime the doors closed. It was impossible to close a door without this noise as there was something in the hinges that made this loud click. Very disturbing when the family was sleeping and we were trying to get over our jetlag so up at different hours.

Finally in the main bedroom there were only three tiny drawers although there was ample space for them to have provided a proper dresser. We ended up living out of our suitcases for 11 days.

I would stay here if convenient but don't have high expectations for the property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
972 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,793 reviews
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forbury Roseate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forbury Roseate

Property: The Forbury Roseate
Address: 26 The Forbury, Reading RG1 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reading
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Forbury Roseate 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel with a private house feel, The Forbury has been designed to meet the needs of the single business person or couple seeking refuge from the “rat race”. The bedrooms and suites provide a sumptuous and stimulating environment. Every feature has been designed with comfort in mind. From huge beds with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to American walnut floors with underfloor heating and fine Italian chrome bath fittings, nothing has been overlooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Forbury Roseate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbury Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing