We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, shame about the town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Forbury Roseate
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was the second time I had stayed at this hotel and it continues to deliver a lovely guest experience in very well presented rooms and public areas. The only slightly annoying thing is the lack of air conditioning, which means you need to have the window open in summer to keep the room cool. Consequently the sounds of the city, including late night revellers, come into the room. The restaurant and bar are lovely, relaxed and staffed by very welcoming people. The downside to the Forbury is the town in which it is located. There are lovely villages around Reading and some fantastic restaurants in the rural area. However, the town of Reading has nothing to attract the visitor. The town centre is as hostile as portrayed on many news bulletins and the quality of hostelries and other entertainment venues is as low as you can imagine from the chain pub industry. If I could lock myself in the hotel and never experience the town around it, hat wold be ideal!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 566 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Forbury is an impressive luxury hotel in the heart of Reading, just a five minute walk from the rail station. The experience begins as soon as you step inside, from the warm friendly welcome at the front desk to the lavish interiors that guide you through to your boutique room.

So why 4 out of 5? It was a very hot Summer's day when we arrived and it was disappointing to not have air conditioning in the room. England may not be a typically hot country, but at the luxury end of the hotel market we are usually able to expect climate control as standard. A section of ripped wallpaper in the bathroom and the lack of room-to-hallway soundproofing also prevent a 5/5 rating.

Despite this, I would definitely revisit The Forbury if I stay in Reading again. The roll-top bath and walk-in shower made up for the ripped wallpaper in the bathroom, whilst Molton Brown toiletries and a Bang and Olufsen audio-visual system provided the perfect finishing touches. Perhaps next time I'll visit in the Winter...!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ixorias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Amazing 5 star hotel. Spent a lovely surprise anniversary here. I would definitely recommend the romantic package since it includes a bottle of champagne, chocolates, 3 course dinner as well as an option to have breakfast in bed free of charge!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Addicted_to_travel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've tried three hotels during my time in Reading, where I've been based four nights a week with work for the last few months, and the Forbury is hands-down the best in its class. By a mile.

The rooms are all beautifully finished, and the extras go on and on. You leave your shoes out in the corridor at bed time; they return there polished in the morning. You want your breakfast served to your room; you get it at no extra cost. You want to carry on listening to the song on BBC 6Music but need to hurry up and get a shower; it's already playing on the wet room speakers. You want a decent coffee; there's a Nespresso maker tucked away in your cupboard.

Many of the rooms overlook the recently-developed Forbury Square, which is one of the best views in Reading centre. They're of a decent size too, with CDs and DVDs already laid out for you to play through the B&O AV setup, and several books on the bedside tables as a starting point. This is a wonderful place to stay if you're a businessman away from home but you can't help but feel that it would be an even better venue for a couple's stay, just because of all the endlessly pleasing services, facilities and quirks.

The weather has been stiflingly hot and there is no air conditioning, but that will be a downside about 10 nights a year, and there are still floor fans available. So while it would be stupid to emphasise that point, equally it would be remiss not to say that the breakfasts are first-rate; on a par, or thereabouts, with the Malmaison.

Please don't stay at the Forbury because as long as I am working in Reading I want to be sure that I can get a room here. But you'd be stupid to listen to me - there's nowhere to touch it.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook Forbury Square - second or third floors have an especially good view over it. Ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great hotel. My wife and I make a point of staying here when we have a retail therapy weekend in Reading.

The decor is great, the staff really helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are spotless. Its just plush and feels worth every penny.

Room Tip: If you want a real treat, book The Forbury Suite - with its own steam room, open fire and large dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_260_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed there for the second time recently and my bedroom was even more spectacular than the previous one. There can't be many bedrooms in which a full sized four-poster bed looks small. Bath and wet room luxurious, even a huge heated wall mirror. The high quality of the decor is stunning and the service is there to match too. Unfortunately I can't comment on the restaurant as I chose the eat out in the evenings. The breakfasts were as to be expected, the continental was ok but but limited, the cooked looked fine from where I sat but I didn't sample any.
The free WiFi reached in to all nooks and crannies of the hotel so much better than the usual "lobby only" setup.
I'll be returning next year, can't wait.

Room Tip: Room 18, the one I had is massive and was at the back of the hotel (overlooking the carpark) and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iTravel4Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place is a gem in Reading. We only stayed for 1 night, on the way back to Heathrow, and we now regret the short stay. It's mega comfortable, really plush, the rooms are superbly equipped and the staff are helpful in the extreme. And good food in the restaurant. There's simply nothing I can say which would improve the place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a walk around Reading. It's a more interesting town than it first looks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,052 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#7 of 31 in Reading
2,502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
17.4 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forbury Roseate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forbury Roseate

Address: 26 The Forbury, Reading RG1 3EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#1 Business Hotel in Reading
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Price Range: $132 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Forbury Roseate 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel with a private house feel, The Forbury has been designed to meet the needs of the single business person or couple seeking refuge from the “rat race”. The bedrooms and suites provide a sumptuous and stimulating environment. Every feature has been designed with comfort in mind. From huge beds with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to American walnut floors with underfloor heating and fine Italian chrome bath fittings, nothing has been overlooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Forbury Roseate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbury Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing