We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels anywhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Forbury Roseate
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
The Valley, Anguilla
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location, fantastic building, fantastic room. Good, friendly, helpful and efficient staff.
Great breakfast selection, well cooked.
A faultless stay, would definitely recommend and can't wait for another opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    83
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
53
231
20
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend break as our daughter has just started uni here. We thought it was really good value and could not be faulted. We had the relaxing package, well worth it. Dinner in Cerise was lovely with a great atmosphere. Really liked our room, thought the selection of CDs was a nice touch.
We will be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chunkyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Forbury for one night, we were attending a friends special birthday held in another hotel in Reading, and thought we would treat ourselves to a junior suite at The Forbury. On the good side we found the room to be very comfortably furnished and the staff very friendly. On the downside the lighting in the room was very dim and not possible to adjust (the same applied to the under floor heating controlled by the hotel) There was a very small mirror on the desk/dressing table which only had a reading lamp so it was impossible to put on makeup here! The bathroom lighting wasn't much better, and personally I prefer to sit at a dressing table when getting ready to go out. The rug had some leather squares sown on which had come unstitched and nearly tripped my husband up when he caught his toe in one. The duvet was synthetic and a bit too warm.The wardrobe space was tight and far too small if staying for longer, and lacking adequate hangers. It makes me wonder if the rooms have been designed by a man?
To sum up OK for a one night stay, at this price I would expect better, especially in a suite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likeitornot29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Forbury is exactly what a 5 star hotel experience should be - luxury - impeccable service and just about perfect in every way. This boutique hotel is ideally located in the town centre. A relatively small, independently owned hotel, rooms are opulently furnished and the suites offer the ultimate in decadence. Reading is hardly a destination you'd choose for a break, but book into the Forbury and you'll feel you're in paradise! Superb breakfast and room service.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrChipsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a fantastic stay last Saturday night at this hotel. Service was very good and the rooms and public areas were stylish yet comfortable. Our only minor criticism was a lack of air con in the bedroom and with windows that do not open it made it a little stuffy overnight. I think this was due to the age of the building maybe (unless it was there and we just completely missed it!) The barmen and women were clearly very talented as our cocktails were fantastic (and what a superb range available) and the Eggs Benedict I had for breakfast was the best Eggs Benedict I had ever had.
If I ever return to Reading overnight I would not even hesitate in booking this hotel again. A real find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenlulu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Outside of 5* London boutique hotels this is probably the best furnished and decorated hotel in te area, and with service to match. Nothing is too much trouble here and the rates are reasonable.

The Cerise restaurant is small but food is consistently good.

Central, walk to the stores, offices, and station, fast train to London 25mins

Room Tip: Rooms over the front or sides of the hotel are preferable to those over the back. Otherwise the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

A real gem in the centre of Reading and yet in a very quiet location. The price/quality ratio is excellent too and very very good value. The only aspect where the hotel could do better is with the shampoos and soaps which are very cheap and let down the splendid bathrooms and to be able to luxuriate there; if they chose something from a better quality brand (White Company, Penhaligon's, or Hermes or any other) then it would be perfect and would set the standard of the hotel.
The staff is friendly and forthcoming and the breakfast excellent; they also have a very good cocktail bar (a rarity in Reading).

Room Tip: worth the upgrade to one the junior suites which are of a very high standard and utterly decadent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forbury Roseate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forbury Roseate

Property: The Forbury Roseate
Address: 26 The Forbury, Reading RG1 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#1 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Forbury Roseate 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel with a private house feel, The Forbury has been designed to meet the needs of the single business person or couple seeking refuge from the “rat race”. The bedrooms and suites provide a sumptuous and stimulating environment. Every feature has been designed with comfort in mind. From huge beds with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to American walnut floors with underfloor heating and fine Italian chrome bath fittings, nothing has been overlooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Forbury Roseate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbury Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing