We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Groupon Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reading Lake Hotel
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Groupon Bargain”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Arrived here in the cold and snow. The location is beautiful and in good weather it must be nice to sit on the balcony & watch the wildlife, however, this being Winter (supposedly Spring!) we spent minutes on the balcony! The £59 deal for b & b with a bottle of house wine thrown in is remarkable. The hotel is rather tired and the bar area looked like it needed a good scrub, dirty tables, shabby sofas, heater slipping off the wall & chewing gum stuck under the dado rail (urgh! If I notice these things why don't the management ?.) The room was clean if again a bit dated, there seemed to be a bag of rubbish left on th balcony! Having said all this, the staff were attentive at dinner & while the menu is a bit pub food, helpings were generous, all courses were freshly cooked and tasty. So all in all, a good deal for a night away. With some money spent this place could be amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    114
    128
    110
    110
See reviews for
46
197
9
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Not good. Promised more on the website, but then you don't show pictures or dirty walls or peeling wallpaper if you are trying to market! Room was cold and train noise noticeable. Tired and definitely not a four star hotel. The three star holiday inn up the road is considerably better value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

let's start with the good.

what a location - absolutely stunning - overlooking a lake and with most rooms having access and balconies. The lake is well populated with tame swans, moorhens and ducks.

the room rate was great, 3 course dinner and full breakfast for £83 - compared to other hotels in the area, a fantastic price

My room was large and spacious and reasonably clean. - but that's it.

Everything else is a bit of a let down - from being given the wrong number on my room card (caused confusion at the bar and for dinner) to being forced to eat in the bar because the Lakeside Restarant "doesnt open in the week".

The food was OK - but ruined by hearing the chef bellow "service" every few minutes from the serving hatch.

The bar was ok but lifeless and ruined by having two big screen televisions showing different channels - both on silent.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

There was mould around the bath and about 3 years limescale on the taps - yet the bathroom was clean and the shower was hot.

Put it this way, if you paid the equivalent for the size of room, the food and the view in a "holiday" location you would be pretty happy.

This is a potentially great hotel that may possibly be going in the other direction - only time will tell.

Room Tip: ask for a room opposite the reception on the lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Beautiful location once you can find it, due to road works and road closures the satnav couldn't really get me there in one go. The hotel itself I thought to be very basic, and no backup plan at the hotel when the chef didn't turn up to do breakfast. I also had to wait 20 minutes at 6.30am for someone to attend the reception for checkout, not at all good when you’re in a hurry.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here on groupon deal in february 2013. we had a very pleasent stay over night .Room was very clean and a beautiful balcony view over the lake. We ate a 3 course evening meal in the bar area and the food was really lovely. would recommend a stay here. The only thing i would say was that we got up for breakfast about 8am and we found the cooked breakfast abit cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and i stayed here on a groupon deal, we had read many of the reviews so was abit sceptical about staying here...but i am pleased to say i'm glad we did. Alright the hotel does need some updating but for what we paid for our night i think we cant complain...the staff were friendly and the breakfast was good albeit the cooked breakfast was only warm instead of hot but my husband said food was tasty as i only had cereal and toast. I would advise people to watch the drink prices as they are abit steep. Do think they need to make atmosphere in bar lounge better as just tv on and no music so bit boring .The hotel is in the middle of nowhere but we ate out at a beefeater which was only a few miles away so you can reach nearby towns but you do need to drive or take a taxi... I enjoyed our view from our room which overlooked the whole of the lake, it would of been lovely if it wasnt raining all weekend!! Apart from that i would advise people to try it, after all you get what you pay for!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top floor as view is lovely. Plus quieter as away from bar, not that much noise co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolac08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here on a groupon deal, as my daughter had rowing at Dorney - normally we would stay at a premier inn.
For the price we didn't think it was any better and would definitely not pay the full price.
We had a bottle of wine (which was good) and breakfast (which was excellent) with our deal and would do a similar deal again.
We found it quite tricky to get to but apart from the distant rumble of the trains, it was in a beautiful setting, literally on the lake - woke up to a cygnet outside of our balcony ( which made our stay!).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
1,725 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
2,185 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 32 in Reading
920 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reading Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Lake Hotel

Property: The Reading Lake Hotel
Address: Pingewood, Reading RG30 3UN, England (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Reading)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reading Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reading Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Copthorne Hotel
Copthorne Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing