We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect overnight stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reading Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Reading Lake Hotel
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Reading
bushey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Four of us went for an overnight stay at a special discounted price and boy were we surprised at what awaited us.

The hotel is modern, bright and perfectly situated overlooking the lake. The rooms were large,, spacious and tastefully decorated. The dinner menu was very varied with lots of good choices and the food was beautifully served and delicious. The desserts were to die for!! Wine was included in the special offer and it was not just any old house wine but a fine wine which we really enjoyed.

The staff were very helpful and pleasant the overall we had a wonderful time and would certainly repeat the experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sylbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurreading, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and very nice to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We have promotions running throughout the year including the package you enjoyed which is available until the end of November so we look forward to seeing you again!.

Yours Sincerely
Paul Hodgson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    114
    127
    110
    108
See reviews for
46
196
9
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

We loved this hotel - it is built round a lake and every room has its own balcony. OK the hotel needs a bit of care here and there but all in all it was a lovely visit. Our room was on the ground floor so we opend the balcony door and there was the lake complete with ducks and swans. There was water skiing to watch early evening and then sitting outside in the bar area was very relaxing. The restaurant also has a nice outside area where you can have your meal in a most romantic setting. We had a lovely warm, clear night and the sky was just magical, we stood on our balcony for ages just watching the stars (you dont see much of that in the night sky in our part of London). Actually that would be my one complaint - no table or chairs on the balcony.
Breakfast was very good with hot toast brought to your table rather than leaving you to struggle with a toast machine that never works! Every thing else was buffet style - fine with me and again we had the lovely view while we ate.
We got an excellent deal from Late Rooms so for us it was a win win situation - dont suppose we would be able to afford to go again unless we managed to find another deal like that.
The journey to the hotel is a bit surreal - but follow the signs and you will find it - eventually!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LandPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurreading, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay especially the views from your bedroom balcony.
Hope to see you again soon
Many thanks
Paul Hodgson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed here for 1 night, for £35 on saturday. the bar area looks new and referb. the resturant is nice. rooms are with excellent size. NO AIR CON! and in the middle of no where. The price for the night was £35 but by the end of the night i had spent £100 for food and breakfast, so you can imagine that the food here is pratically the same price as staying the night, and the food isnt that great. to be honest it is not like other 4 star hotels i mean you would not expect this hotel to be off that standard but it is classifed, when i went to the hotel i always saw only one receptionist. but overall it is an alright hotel. can not really compain.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank latef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We love this hotel.Its position on the lake is tranquil and magical and we always love feeding the ducks and swans,as do visiting children.Each room has a balcony looking onto the lake and it made us feel so peaceful and content watching the lake at sunrise and sunset.The rooms are fine and the hotel has been careful each time to give us a room very convenient for my disabled partner,who has walking problems, and to provide carry-in and carry-out service.Breakfasts were good and we also enjoyed all our meals,which were nicely cooked and presented and generously served. We liked the fact that both restaurant and bar also overlook the lake.All staff were friendly and helpful.We used this hotel as a base to explore the Thames Valley and riverside towns.We bought our break on EBAY but there's a very good promotion on at the moment for dinner,bed and breakfast directly with the hotel.We will go there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank furbysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurreading, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
It is very pleasing to read your comments after your third stay visit this year.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Yours Sincerely
Paul Hodgson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I am not one to complain or criticise about the silly things when I visit a hotel.
As you can see from my reviews I’m easily pleased.

I was not pleased with the Lake Reading Hotel at all. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the river, which was very romantic. As soon as we walked into our room we noticed that our bed was very small. It was a small Double, if we put together two singles they would have been bigger. We had a TV with only 5 channel, which was annoying as we didn’t even have freeview.

Bathroom had hair on the floor and in the bath. The wallpaper was coming off the walls.

We had a rough nights sleep due to the small bed – we hardly got any sleep.

We had Bed and Breakfast included, we filled out a breakfast form the night before and hanged it on the door. The hotel failed to pick up our form and we did not get breakfast on time. I then called the restaurant and ordered our breakfast. When our food arrived the order was completely wrong. I specifically stated that I did not want meat on my plate and they ignored my request and also missed things off.

We had Dinner at the hotel – Restaurant staff we very nice. Average food – not worth the money. I ordered Steak and Chips which cost £18.00. The steak wasn’t great. I left most of it. We ordered desert to our room and we got a fork instead of spoon to eat our custard. HHhhhmmmm.

Night 2 was not great. We thought because we were so tired we would probably sleep through the 2nd night. But that wasn’t the case and we were looking forward to going home.

We had breakfast and left because I just wanted to go home and sleep.

When leaving the hotel the reception (Eastern European Lady) left the reception to make tea. So we had to wait around in the hotel longer. When returning she did not apologise, she didn’t ask if we had a nice stay but just gave me the bill – no smile or no eye contact, no thank you or see you soon.

I was very disappointed with my stay and I will not be returning. Waste of money and a waste of a “Romantic weekend”

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShamEtienne12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurreading, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
It is most disappointing to read of the issues you encountered on your recent stay and thank you for bringing them to my attention.
We fully appreciate the feedback we receive and use this wherever possible to improve the service and facilities we have available to our guests.
Yours Sincerely
Paul Hodgson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have just got back from a 2 day trip to Reading, and stayed at this hotel for 1 night.
First impressions? Hotel looked shabby from the outside, a bit like an old people's apartment, but lots of FREE parking. Lovely large Foyer/Reception. Lounge/Bar - very sophisticated, Dining room - Well decorated and classy. Bedroom - Shabby but clean.
We had a room over looking the lake, all rooms are ensuite, and i had booked a standard double room. Bathroom was small, about the same size as i have at home. No toilet paper holder, and only set up for one person, although they knew there was going to be two in the room. No safe, as included in the price, and when i complained i was offered a room with no lake view but a safe - inappropriate, so i refused. We put up with no Safe. Although the manager did not offer any compensation or further incentives to return.
Good points - The heating wasn't on in the room, but it was very hot, and when the door couldnt be opened, there was a fan to use. The TV worked, and there was a cool working fridge in the cupboard, along with alot of other working items, e.g. lamp and hairdryer. Complimentary Tea, Coffee and Chocolate to drink with biscuits. The room was very clean. The Restaurant food was very good and all fresh veg and the breakfast was a help yourself deal and was also very worth the £8.00 (although I had paid for this in advance and cost me £9. each) The staff were friendly, although the Receptionist did not read my online booking printout, and gave me a room card with no breakfast, which i later pointed out i had booked it with breakfast and she happily changed it and apologised. The standard rooms are quite large, large enough to get a child or two small children.
Downside - The bed was hard, The valance sheet was dirty, the bath mat was stained, there were no flannels available for use, the food menu was very short and very expensive, Drinks at the bar, i overheard someone else complaining at the price of them. The toiletries provided had no scent, and reminded me of Simple soap and the same with the shower/hair shampoo.I'm sure for a 4 Star hotel, they could have provided somthing like the English Inns provide., and some of them are not even 4 stars! The worst part of this room was security, the door had no inside lock, only a door chain. The reason why the safe was not included in this room, was because someone had broken into the last one, and they had not replaced it. The door key was just literally THAT, no swipe card.
For a 4 Star hotel, it doesn't come up by half to the standards and no where as good as a Copthorne hotel. Very disappointed., wont be using them again.
AND Certainly NOT good value for money! £84.00 a night with breakfast included on a Saturday night.

Room Tip: Book online, try and find the best deals, all sites are not the same, even their own website can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radicol2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Hotel staff bit vague , but hotel nice, room was great just for quick stop on route to Lego land, beautiful surroundings and close to reading and 3min drive to pub and river would use again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.0 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
1.3 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#10 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.0 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reading Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Lake Hotel

Property: The Reading Lake Hotel
Address: Pingewood, Reading RG30 3UN, England (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Reading)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reading Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Reading Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Copthorne Hotel
Copthorne Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing