We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B - Best Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amherst Guest House
Ranked #3 of 17 Reading B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B - Best Ever”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were a party of 3 adults and we took two separate rooms located at the back of the house. This B&B is probably the best I have every stayed at in the UK. The rooms were large and even had a small fridge and microwave with dishes and utensils. The house and rooms are spotless too. The breakfast was amazing. The hosts (Cath & Doug) made us feel very welcome and they were so friendly and accommodating. I would stay there again next time I am in the UK. It is located not far from the main rail station in Reading. Reading is a nice city with excellent shopping. It is only a 30 minute train ride to Paddington Station with frequent trains so there is no need to stay in London and pay the expensive B&B rates for small rooms. This B&B scores 10 out of 10 in my opinion. Can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank showmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
11
18
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A brilliant find - such a friendly and welcoming B&B with immaculate rooms and very comfortable beds. Breakfast was amazing - especially the kippers,complimented by the view outside with hens roaming freely around the garden.
Can't recommend it more, I have stayed in this hotel now once a month for the past year and I think I have experienced each of the bedrooms in turn, all of them were more than suitable ,very clean and warm with an array of electrical items to make the guests life easier.
Excellent hosts who are considerate towards guest needs, pleasant and very helpful.
Looking forwared to my next visit later this month.

Room Tip: My chosen room is number 4 but all of them have very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

A brilliant find - such a friendly and welcoming B&B with immaculate quite rooms and very comfortable beds. Breakfast was amazing - especially having a chat with Cath & Doug! Can't recommend it more, if I'm in Reading again I'll be back. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed at Amherst over the Reading Festival weekend & really enjoyed my stay. The rooms were big, airy & clean & the service was great. Cath made a great breakfast each morning & both her & Doug really friendly. Its a short walk into town & to the festival. There is even a microwave & fridge in the room which we don't expect. We were very pleased! See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollySamScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed at The Amherst for 3 nights for the Reading Festival. We found Kath the manager to be friendly and welcoming and it was nice to be served a pre ordered delicious breakfast. The room was comfortable and spacious and offered the option to make coffee and tea and enjoy the contents of the complimentary goodies! There was also a microwave in the room which was handy (though we weren't in the room long enough to use it)! It is well located for the centre and quiet at night both inside and outside. Just lovely, thank you both!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Good location, nice and clean rooms, great breakfast and very friendly hosts. Would stay here again, and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LO420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Pam and Doug have created a good place to stay.They were friendly and very helpful.Moreover the room was well equipped ,spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were sumptuous.(fresh eggs from their own,very pretty chickens!)We would strongly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
998 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
985 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Guest House

Property: Amherst Guest House
Address: 73 Russell Street, Reading RG1 7XG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located only 10 minutes walk from The Oracle Shopping Centre and Reading town centre's restaurants, shops and bars. We are conveniently situated 10 minutes walk from the central train station and buses head into town every few minutes from outside Amherst.All our rooms are en-suite with double beds and are furnished with good quality linen, feather duvets and pillows to guarantee a good nights sleep. Our rooms are equip with LCD TV's with DVD, fridges, microwaves, hair dryers, and generous welcome trays with snacks and beverages. Free High Speed Wireless internet access throughout the building. Free parking is available on request.There is a Marks & Spencers food outlet a minutes walk from Amherst and a Tesco Express a 3 minute walk away.We offer a choice of a full cooked breakfast or lighter healthier options. Good quality clean accommodation with high levels of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Amherst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing