We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel and dirty too”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parkside International Hotel
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worst hotel and dirty too”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I have to say I stayed in lots of hotels but this hotel has to be the filthiest . The throw on the bed had bodily fluids , I could not even touch the shower curtain with black mould and god knows what.it was noisy with doors banging and thin Walls . The breakfast was worse if you could believe that , all the delph was dirty. I've never been so dissatisfied

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CorlessGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    43
    22
    34
See reviews for
15
19
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is tired at best. Sparse Old fashioned bedroom furniture, bedside table had cigarette burns, poor lighting, 1980's T.V . No hot water in shower at night and whilst I thought my luck was in because the shower ran warm in the morning this was short lived as the tap the fell off the wall. Towels old and greying. Budget facilities for not budget price, needs to have some money spent on it even if that means increasing prices. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I arrived at this hotel later in the evening (around 8pm), and the car park was almost full - full of work vans, lots of them - so I can't describe it as a business person's hotel, more of a workman's hotel.
Check-in was OK, no airs or graces, I had to ask about food times which is normally a standard piece of information at check-in, no advice re wifi, bar times nothing. I figured I would read about it in my room - that was a mistake.
My room was less than OK, but I was tired after a long drive and figured put up and shut up. Having not found an info booklet or anything I headed down and I popped my head into the restaurant to see what it was like - I didn't stay, instead I went to the local fuel station to get some food - I reckon it was more inviting.
So my room - hmmm, a Crossroad throwback with problems galore. As I walked in the door, dragging my bag behind I walked into the wardrobe that was directly in front of my face as I opened the door, oh well... let's see what inside the room is like. It didn't get much better. Carpet was not good, bed spread was like something that Miss Diane or Benny from Crossroad would have been accustomed to and the curtains didn't reach the floor, even though the window did... and the wardrobe was coming off the wall along with one of the wall lamps - visible wires - always safe!
Sleep wasn't very good as it was noisy from people in the corridor and TVs in the adjacent rooms. Morning came and so to the shower.
Now the bathroom looked OK, probably more recently renovated, BUT the water from the hand basin was non-existent, and the shower was cold - I tried and tried but could not get any hot water. Great start to the day - a cold shower NOT!
I gave this hotel 2/5, as it isn't the worst place I have stayed but it is in the bottom 5. I was glad to leave and it is unlikely that I will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After reading reviews on trip advisor I was expecting the worst place ever. However, when we got there i was pleasantly surprised by the room being quite clean and pleasant. Our room had a really old tv which was strange because the room next door had a large flatscreen. There were toiletries in the bathroom and the room was cleaned thoroughly every day. The towels were a bit thin but were clean and still did the job. The shower was a bit dirty (limescale or something left on the head) and there was a slight bit of rust on the shower rail, but it didn't make much difference to the stay. The room was clean enough, big enough, the bed was comfortable and we had a decent sleep in it for our 3 nights. The night porter is absolutely lovely, and the most helpful man ever! He was very chatty and friendly and quick to point out the refreshment trays in rooms and help guests any way he could. On one of the days our card to our room stopped working, but we went to reception and the woman there fixed it for us straight away, with no problem. The rooms were decently priced for the time we stayed too. The staff were friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I like to give hotels the benefit of the doubt, not everything can be perfect however, I have to be honest. I booked the lawn hotel but they put me in their sister hotel Park side. On arrival there were groups hanging outside drinking and smoking on the entrance steps, not nice, there is no outside seating. The fire alarm went of 3 times Through the night... Faulty! The showers don't work properly. Bar does not take card under £10. They dont sell bottled water in the bar. Water stains all over ceiling. Pillows like lumps of rock. I think if you cant supply the bare minimum needed don't bother at all. Not gone for breakfast yet, still contemplating it. Maybe I'm just grumpy from lack of sleep from the the alarms! Just come back from breakfast, very nice, bar and restaurant service very good!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Not sure about this hotel, it's obviously fairly new but despite that has no aircon in the rooms. There are no brochures about the hotel anywhere in the room or reception, not even breakfast, meal times etc. Some people there weren't happy as on some sites it's listed has having a leisure centre, which if your idea of leisure is a building site then go for it!

The staff are friendly and there is the option of SMOKING ROOMS!!!

As I mentioned earlier, the building seems fairly new but even so there are cracks in the parking area and a few missing bricks! Bt the way, if you're nervous of dropping your keys, don't park over the mysterious gratings in the car park!

The rrom was comfortable with the usual tea/coffee stuff, however, it took 3 bath fulls before I managed to get clean water!!

Room Tip: some of the rooms face directly into other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I booked a room (not via Trip Advisor) at the next-door sister hotel, The Lawns, and received a courteous call on the day to advise that The Lawns was 'over-booked' that night and my booking had been transferred to the Parkside Intl. The hotel is easy to find with plenty of free parking. The reception, bar and restaurant are all spacious (for a budget hotel), the atmosphere relaxed/casual and the staff amiable and human (you know what I mean...!). The room (110) appeared to be specially fitted for disabled access and was spacious, well-fitted and everything worked. There was plenty of hot water and the bedding linen / covers were better quality than most hotels in this price range. The room was at the back of the hotel and I didn't hear a squeak outside or from the neighbouring rooms. The free wi-fi was fine and connected quicker and easier than most. There is an extensive bar/restaurant menu in the evening and I paid £13 for a prawn cocktail starter, spaghetti bolognaise main and a pint of John Smiths (pure class, me...). In addition to the pub-style favourites there were many international menu options. However, the most popular items in the bar that night were burgers and steaks. The traditional English breakfast was definitely one of the better ones I have had for a while. My rating of average is only because there's no rating of 'good' - or maybe that should be 'good value'. Either way, I found no fault during my stay.

Room Tip: It was quiet at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry_Brotherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.4 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
1.9 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#10 of 31 in Reading
295 reviews
1.1 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside International Hotel

Property: Parkside International Hotel
Address: 72 Bath Road | Berkshire, Reading RG30 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkside International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkside International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside International Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing