We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parkside International Hotel
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great hotel my husband and I have sayed here 1 night every week for the past 10 months and have no complaints, hotel and room lovely, staff very friendly and excellent breakfast
would recommend 100%
Mr mrs Leggett

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    43
    22
    34
See reviews for
15
19
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heanor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were booked to stay in the Lawn hotel next door and we we told they had double booked us so were moved here as the hotel has the same owner.
The hotel was nice but the staff were on there own planet. Waited ages for an evening meal and outside was like a building site.
Room was tidy but had a smell of stale smoke. Sorry wont be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for two nights and was disappointed in several aspects of the hotel. I found a dress ring just under my bed. Why wasn't it found during cleaning? Our hot breakfast was brought to the table before we had finished our cereals. Stains on the carpet, grouting on the bathroom floor was flawed which left dirty stains on the bath mat. The staff were friendly, just require better training.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marabooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My sister and I booked a room at The Lawns next door to the Parkside on the internet a few weeks ago. On arrival there wasn't a twin bedded room available so we were taken by Alex to their sister hotel the Parkside International 1 minutes walk away. Reception lovely and clean and modern and the receptionist couldn't have been more polite and welcoming. The room we were shown to was of a good standard, modern, clean, quite large, equipped with kettle, hairdryer etc. Bathroom spotless and supplied with toiletries. White towels which seemed a bit thin but did a good job of drying! The view was over the car park but it didn't matter. The room was warm and despite being on a main road extremely quiet. The room was the quality of a Premier Inn. We didn't eat in the restaurant that evening but did greatly enjoy a freshly cooked full english breakfast the following morning again with excellent service from the staff. We only paid £60 for the room which I realise was a bargain but I cannot fault the hotel at all. It was only a 20 minute walk from Reading town centre, there's a Beefeater restaurant 2 minutes walk away and plenty of public transport on the main road. There was ample free and safe car parking and also free WIFI. I have no idea why this hotel has received bad comments from other travellers. I would certainly stay again and would recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NESSY3306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The room was clean, the staff were friendly, very efficient and helpful and the breakfast was good.
Yes, the rooms need a little updating - old TV, stains on the carpet, a slight smell of previous smokers, and a shower that was difficult to control the temperature. However, these were niggles, rather than major problems.
Generally, what you pay for the room will give you a good guide to the standard you can expect. It's a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst attending the reading festival, we arrived after a very long journey and first impressions were okay the reception was nice enough. When we got into our room though it all changed the bathroom smelled damp the shower curtain was horrible, the rail was rusted and the entire bathroom looked unfinished with gaps in the tiles at the bottom. The window also looked out onto other rooms meaning that the curtains had to be closed at all times for privacy. We paid £120 for one night and after spending the night there I can officially say I would rather have camped, I think it would have been more comfortable!

Room Tip: Do not go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Despite the title...I have to admit I have stayed here more than once. Not out of true choice but with work budgets being what they are, and the cost of Reading being what it is .. there's an old saying about beggars can't be choosers..
It does however seem that if beggars could be choosers, they would (and in some cases I suspect HAVE) chosen this place.
This place always used to be £59 per night come rain or shine (though I see prices have now gone up) and for the money, there is truly nothing good to say. The rooms are old and drab, dirty in a couple of cases, cracked bathroom tiles, cracked windows in one case and with the lighting quality of one of the rooms I stayed in, I think I may have got slightly more ambiance from my phone on charge in the corner.

Staff are not just uninterested but rude and in most cases, seem to have little idea about what they should be doing. I did once try the food but thankfully I managed to get the taste out after a week or so (there is a pub over the road, which does some ok food)

I could go on but most reviews say it all - dirty, smelly and with a damp feel. The one last - and actually the most notable thing in my opinion is the seedy atmosphere as soon as you walk in. There is a large portion of the clientele at this place who wouldn't be out of place in a rehab clinic

The one decent point I would say is that my first night here was spent in what could be the only decent room. I can't remember which one it was but it did have a small balcony and there was none of the grime that infests other rooms. It was for this reason that I actually went back. I'd like to say I wouldn't stay here again but budgets are budgets! And the back of my car does pose some problems with getting dressed in the morning

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunslave2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.4 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
1.9 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#10 of 31 in Reading
295 reviews
1.1 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside International Hotel

Property: Parkside International Hotel
Address: 72 Bath Road | Berkshire, Reading RG30 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkside International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkside International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside International Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing