We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of Flavours

House of Flavours
Ranked #31 of 610 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: House of Flavours brings the ultimate, authentic Indian fine dining experience to the Reading. A company deeply committed to setting standards in excellence and quality, its innovative yet traditional cuisine and impeccable service delivers just that, by effortlessly combining the contemporary with traditional. Elegant surroundings and scrumptious cuisine which leaves you feeling like a royal is what you can expect. Come and enjoy the best of Indian Cuisine at House of Flavours!
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Will be back!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I had the best indian food in House Of Flavours today, thanks to tripadvisor.

I liked the chicken tak a tak and tandoori king prawns the most. The food was so yummy and well presented.

The staff were helpful and caring. The prices are reasonable too.

on my next trip to reading, i will surely pop in again in this restaurant.

In my openion this is one of the best indian restaurant the country has.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank indifud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    135
    47
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impeccable Flavours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is not the first time we have eaten in this building. We enjoyed many meals when it was a Mediterranean restaurant, and again more recently Turkish. Now it seems we will be frequenting it yet again if the standard of food and service we experienced on Tuesday night continues. I always reckon that a place must have something about it if it's endorsed by the people of its own culture, and that certainly seemed to be the case on our visit. The open plan layout & simple modern decor gave a light & cosmopolitan air to the undertaking. It's conveniently close to town, but quieter, not having to compete with the bars.
We were greeted warmly, like old friends, & ushered to a table of our choosing with very little fuss. Poppadoms & Pickles were brought to us automatically, whilst we chose our drinks. Wines start at about £14 a bottle and Tracy selected a very passable New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc at £18.99; at £3.95 each my 2 pints of draught Cobra were never going to break the bank!
Although the menu has a good range of traditional and contemporary dishes, including a number of fish & interesting vegetarian options, we decided to go for the taster menu: Chef's selection of 4 tandoori starters with an amazing variety of distinctly different flavours, followed by 1 chicken + 1 lamb curry (choose 1 from 2 on each) served with rice & a selection of naan, & accompanied by a very unusual Black Lentil stew (earthy, mild, quite pleasant) together with a lightly sauteed chunky vegetable bhaji (crisp, fresh, mild). Further portions are available should you require, and at £14.99 this veritable bargain is unlikely to continue for ever- so go soon if you fancy it!!
If you have any room left then the indian desserts (included above) will not be to everybodys taste, but European alternatives are available.
We are looking forward to choosing from the main menu next visit, but in the meantime I might just find an excuse to try their lunchtime express menu- grill, curry or burrito ready in 10 mins!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buttington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The "taster menu" is essentially an all you can eat for £15. We got a good variety of dishes and they were all very tasty. The desserts left a lot to be desired but that seems fairly normal for an Indial restaurant. The staff were all very friendly but perhaps not as attentive as they could have been.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mgmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb !!!! Will be back..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile



Me and wife went for an anniversary meal. We thought the food was the best Indian food in Reading that we have had. We were made to feel very welcome and had a very enjoyable night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goerge s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantabulous!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

From start to finish, my husband and I were waited on hand and foot! Our server was very friendly and polite. The food was fantastic, specially the chicken Malai tikka.. We were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary and at the end of the meal we asked if we could sit up the bar to finish off with a cocktail, whilst we were enjoying our drinks, we were presented with a cake, lit candle, with wording saying"happy anniversary" Thank you House of flavours.. we will be returning x

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brown h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Flavours also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to House of Flavours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing