We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a different level”
Review of House of Flavours

House of Flavours
Ranked #34 of 624 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: House of Flavours brings the ultimate, authentic Indian fine dining experience to the Reading. A company deeply committed to setting standards in excellence and quality, its innovative yet traditional cuisine and impeccable service delivers just that, by effortlessly combining the contemporary with traditional. Elegant surroundings and scrumptious cuisine which leaves you feeling like a royal is what you can expect. Come and enjoy the best of Indian Cuisine at House of Flavours!
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“On a different level”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Do yourself a favour and go to this place, you can really tell the ingredients are superior, the flavours seem so much more subtley defined. Service is great.

I live round the corner and I jolly happy about this place starting up. Spoilt for choice for good Indian restaurants in this little bit of Reading, but this place still really stands out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    152
    54
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lorraine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, good food!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I went with a group (7 in all) after work and despite our chaotic ordering, our server was calm, and delivered what we wanted. I really like the idea of offering set menus, with real options. It was refreshing to see some different dishes than are usually offered. Their mocktails were much appreciated - tasty and unusual. The Apple Juice Mojito was a favourite.

i was amazed to learn that they had only been open a few weeks. Their standard is already high, I expect them to evolve to one of the best in Reading when they open their full a la carte menu. Good luck to them - they are on my list for eating out in Reading. (I am occasionally there on business).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PortiaEliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
passenger1974
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wow .. excellent food and great service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

new place we discovered , nice modern clean Indian , with food to match , we had a taster menu which was the only option at the time and it was very very good and very authentic. this is not your average run of the mill Indian, this place is above average and the food is excellent , it just melts in your mouth. The service is very good and the staff are very attentive and very polite ..we are allready planning to go back next week.. this food just makes you want to go back again and again.. not good for the diet but hey you only live once and might as well live it well ...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank passenger1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Palace of flavours”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Wow! On visiting Reading we were directed to the house of flavours by a local man.Thanks to him a wonderful meal was taken here.10 out of 10 for everything.The most polite of waiting staff Im sorry if I have your name wrong but I think its Tony .What a treat to have beautiful table linen and crockery to accompany the dishes served to us.lots of little special touches from the chef who sent out a complimentary chicken dish it was fab.Wish this was in Inverness keep up the great work.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Indian Restaurant with a taster menu for £14.99”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Was walking with the family on the kings road and found this new restaurant. Looked at the taster menu and decided to go in, since a pretty much new place not much of crowd and the staff were very prompt to attend us and given a table. £14.99 for the non veg taster menu, tandoori fish(best I have had in britain), malai chicken and chciken tikka as starters.Garlic naan, pulao rice , chicken tikka masala with potato fry was also very tasty. All food is perfectly cooked with less oil and the meat was very tender. I am not a great fan of red meat so can't comment on that as such they had a few Lamb dishes on the menu. For sure this is going to be one of the best curry houses in Reading if they maintain the same quality of service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Senthilkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Flavours also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to House of Flavours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing