We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cedars Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Reading Centre(Reading)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Reading Centre(Reading)(Great Value!)
$78
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
$106
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
pentahotels Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
$69
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Beech House Hotel(Reading)(Great Value!)
$87
$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel(Reading)(Great Value!)
$54
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
12
14
9
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
14
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark housestayed here for three nightsreading festivalno liftroom was cleantown centrerefectorydeskdryerkettle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 39 of 39 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for one weekday night at the beginning of September. It was easy to find in a quiet location on the Reading campus, surrounded by university buildings and wonderful old trees. The room was a good size, had tea and coffee making facilities, a comfortable bed and free WiFi; the bathroom was stylish and practical. Breakfast was a short walk away; there was less choice than in a conventional hotel but it was adequate. The staff were helpful as were the instructions and map emailed after we booked.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star-gazersPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

At weekends this hotel is not manned. A security guard (via an intercom box) buzzes you in. This is student accommodations inside a university which accommodates loud students and hosts a nightclub nearby. Anyway... I booked a twin room and on arrival I found out I was given a double. I couldn't accept so awaited the arrival of the security guard who explained he had nothing to do with the hotel and purely grant access. I had to find accommodation elsewhere which cost double to what I normally pay, this was due to the late timing. The manager did email and apologised about the wrong booking. This aside... The place is expensive for what it is. Much nicer, scenic and 'manned' places nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, Manager at The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Mick. Again i can only apologise for the oversight of us accidentally booking you into a twin room instead of a double. This oversight should not have occured and i sincerley apologise about the fact your experience with us was poor, especially as we strive to give an excellent service and pride ourselves on the fact that we usually manage to do so! I would like to offer a complimentary room should you decide to return so we have the oppurtunity to prove our level of service, please simply get in touch if you would liek to take us up on this offer.
Many apologies again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in room s05 a nice clean well presented room. This hotel was convent for an event we were attending on the evening. The hotel is set in grounds of reading university

Bed was very comfy. Room included a small fridge and good tea making facilities.

Plenty of parking close to the hotel.

Shower has a nice range of control from cold to very hot.

The window opens quite wide to allow some fresh air to circulate with a very nice view of trees

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Darkearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews