We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely superb”
Review of Setters Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reading
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Setters Barn
Ranked #1 of 17 Reading B&B and Inns
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truely superb”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

If this place is only rated number 2 in the area, I cannot wait to try number 1. We came to Reading at the end of term to collect our son who is a boarder at Reading school. Having done this many times before and stayed in some pretty grotty establishments in the town centre, my wife insisted we tried somewhere out of town, and boy am I glad she did. Nick and Louise greeted us on arrival as if we were old friends. On entering the Barn room the first thing that strikes you is the decor which is top quality. Then the hugh bed which is like sleeping on air. Then there are the finishing touches which show why this place is so good, small bottles of Evian water by the bed, a selection of top quality teas and toileteries and Sky TV with all the movie channels, a first in our experience. After a quality nights sleep we had breakfast outside in the garden because the weather was so kind to us. Top quality ingredients and home made marmalade. Overall we cannot praise Setters barn, Nick and Louise enough for their hospitality and quality of their establishment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuC1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
32
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nick and his lovely wife, Louise, will greet on arrival and make you feel very welcome - they have 2 lovely rooms and my girlfriend and I stayed in the Barn room - excellent decor and in top condition - it's a large room with a comfy bed, crisp bedding and a lovely shower!

Oh and Nick (who's very into his food, recommended some great pubs and restaurants for our stay) will cook you breakfast himself and any time that suits you - he'll even cook you your own loaf of bread in the morning!

Great stay & lovely people

Lee

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesmudge115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our holiday did not start off too well by being burgled and having our car stolen off our drive the morning we were to begin our road trip down to Devon and Cornwall. Setters Barn was our first overnight stay and we were hoping to arrive mid-day so we could explore the area and take full advantage of the lovely location and beautiful accomodation. Nick and Louise were very gracious hosts indeed, Nick's directions were spot on, and found them first time, even by reading the directions by light of the husbands I-Phone ! We arrived about 9pm, just as the light was fading and were extrememly grateful for the comfort and facilities provided in the Garden room. Just our taste, furnishings and bed linen were top quality. In fact I plan to email Louise and ask for her ingredients to make the perfect bed, sorry Nick I know our fellow guests wanted your soda bread recipe ...... which was lovely as well ! Enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast in your wonderful homely kitchen and friendly banter with you both and our fellow guests. Without a doubt I would recommend "Setters Barn" to anyone wishing to visit places nearby or as a stop over on a road trip like us. We are hoping to return with family for a weekend break soon. Until then all the very best to you both, kind regards, Helen & Allan Player x

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, the Garden and Barn rooms, both equally lovely with their own entrances, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePlayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having first come to stay at Setter's Barn when looking for somewhere peaceful to stay whilst on a business trip in Reading, I loved it so much that within 2 months I have already been back for a weekend of rest and relaxation! The location is idyllic and the welcome that Nick & Louise offer is warm and friendly. Both rooms are beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable. The Barn has a lovely big garden complete with wild rabbits scampering about at the bottom of the hill. The woodland and countryside nearby is ideal for running, walking and cycling. We ran before breakfast knowing how well we would eat; delicious eggs and home-baked soda bread were another highlight! On the subject of food, the location is fantastic for exploring what we found to be the many top quality gastro-pubs nearby. Setter's Barn is so special that we know we will be back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent a weekend here recently aand from the moment we booked to the moment we left, we were really impressed with how helpful and attentive the owners Nick and Louise were. We stayed in the Garden Room which is one of their two beautiful guest rooms. It was a spacious room, spotlessly clean but most of all comfortable and relaxing. With it's own private entrance you can come and go without feeling you're disturbing others, but the owners are on hand should you need anything. The bed was ridiculously comfy and with it being so tranquil and secluded you get a great night's sleep - but you're only a short drive away from lots of lovely towns and places to eat. Breakfast is in their gorgeous kitchen and is a hot breakfast cooked to order with lovely homemade bread, and the usual breakfasty bits you can help yourself to. We cannot recommend this place highly enough and hope to visit again in future - it's luxury B&B at its best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have never written a review on here before but I just had to spread the word and say how wonderful this B&B is. The owners Nick and Louise have two elegantly furnished rooms privately accessed through French windows from a beautiful large secluded garden. Breakfast was lovely and fresh with home made bread and as I only drink herbal tea, Nick filled a teapot with freshly picked mint from the garden. I stayed here on two separate weekends during my visit to the UK and will stay here again on future visits. It has good (and free) Wi-Fi connection and is convenient for Henley and Reading. It truly is a find - an absolute delight!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Thank you to Nick and Louise for their warm welcome and great hospitality. We stayed in their beautiful Barn Room for two nights in July 2013. Located in lovely gardens to the rear of the main house, this accommodation was peaceful and private and we were most impressed by the luxurious decor, comfortable bed, and lovely shower room. Tea, coffee and delicious home-made shortbread biscuits awaited us in the bedroom and we were the first B & B guests to have breakfast in their newly-installed kitchen. Top quality fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurts were followed by perfectly cooked bacon, eggs, sausages, mushrooms and tomatoes, accompanied by a wonderful soda bread made to Nick's own recipe ... note that Nick and Louise give cookery classes at Setters Barn from time to time. We would be happy to stay at this B & B again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: The "Barn Room" and "Garden Room" lie either side of an expansive rear garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyntum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
6.8 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,013 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
357 reviews
6.5 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
86 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
534 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Setters Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Setters Barn

Property: Setters Barn
Address: Barnsfield Goring Road, Reading RG8 7SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setters Barn,luxury Bed and Breakfast, near Reading and Henley on Thames, is tucked away in the heart of this stunning peaceful part of the South Oxfordshire countryside. Guests can enjoy the exquisite newly decorated double bedrooms with en-suite shower rooms via their own separate entrance along with free WiFi,radio and ipod docking station, Sky or Freeview and DVD player. Each room has a 'Super King Sized' Double Bed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing