We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure George Hotel Reading
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very impressed”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I needed somewhere to stay for my family and my two sisters families, I found this hotel online and as it was just for one night I went with the cheapest hotel I could find. I had to ring the hotel on numerous occassions for various requests (cot and early check in), each time they were very helpful and did everything they could to help me. I had the same service whilst staying at the hotel, anytime I asked for anything they very happily helped me and our rooms were huge and very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Mercure George Reading in the future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    175
    184
    77
    49
See reviews for
33
85
105
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland. U.K
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed here whilst visiting a friend. All round very good experience. For a 3 star hotel, the George offers excellent value.
Pros: Central location, very safe. Less than 10 mins walk to the station.
Very clean room and public areas
Extremely comfortable bed, pillows.
Variety of Teas & coffee making facilities
Free safe
When I arrived, the courtyard was full of day visitors who were eating/drinking

Cons: Free wi-fi was unreliable
complimentary fridge was not cold (although this is not usually offered at 3 star)
No evaluation form to fill in!

Would I stay here again? Yes, definitely. For members who have criticised this hotel, I'm not sure what they expect for the prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelpink50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George in Reading and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Mecure should be ashamed of this disgraceful hotel. I barely want to spend time writing this but feel i have to to save others the misfortune.

Hotel - It isn't ye olde or quaint. Its run down, dirty, noisy and hot.
Staff - When I complained about the heat the woman on reception told me that i'd need to wait for a fan because she is the only member of staff working at the hotel. 6pm on a weekday !!!!
Room - Poor wifi, no aircon, tiny, open window and it's incredibly noisy. dirty, rundown (see photos)
TV - Worked 50% of time at best. they even have a sign telling you what to do when it loses reception. I DONT WANT A SIGN I WANT A WORKING TV
Fridge - an old fridge just sitting on the carpet under desk where your feet and legs are supposed to be... this is ULTRA ULTRA BUDGET
Bed - didnt sleep a wink, aside from the heat the matress was terrible and duvet cover had a burn mark

Bathroom - uncleaned, dirty, mouldy, hot.. stinks of damp

AND would they change my room ? NO NO NO NO NO. Wouldnt even entertain the discussion.. disgusting Mercure !!

Enjoy photos..

Room Tip: just dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank camb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your stay at The Mercure George in Reading. I will look into the comments made personally and come back to you. Please send me your contact details.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

derbyshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My son and I stayed at the George for one night after a great day sightseeing in London on the 31st of May and where more than happy with the room and service we where given and as for the breakfast it was great and set us up for a day at legoland.Would def.stop at this hotel anytime we are back down south.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank quiffderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Enjoyed a very nice weekend at The George Hotel in Reading recently. The room was very spacious and had all the facilities l needed. It is located right in the Main Shopping Area so in a very good place to stay. The en-suite was very nice and the breakfast was sufficient.

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor in the new block. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments they are much appreciated regarding your recent stay at The Mercure George in Reading.
I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure George Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure George Hotel Reading

Property: Mercure George Hotel Reading
Address: 10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure George Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic hotel is situated in the centre of Reading next to the oracle shopping centre and a short walk to the railway station.The hotel has its own courtyard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure George Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reading
George Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing