We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky not quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure George Hotel Reading
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Reading
crowland, lincolnshire, uk
Level Contributor
369 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Quirky not quaint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I spend my life telling everyone that all I need from a hotel is a clean room a decent shower and a comfortable bed. Two out of three here. The hotel is old and as others have said, floors uneven, headroom in some doorways challenging and my car is parked somewhere across the international date line, none of which really matters.

Room well lit and bed very small (ok for one night I suppose) and bed too soft for my comfort. Unusual in Accor group hotels. Staff correct rather than cordial. Alas nothing at this hotel would make me want to return. I felt as if I had been sofa surfing with a host I never met before creeping out.

Overpriced for what it offers. I saw on the reception desk that various other guests had a double room with breakfast at a significantly lower rate. I understand the variable pricing model, but when will hoteliers learn not to flaunt the results in this way?

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mozart21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay at The Mercure George in Reading and i will look into the comments you made.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    172
    181
    75
    49
See reviews for
33
83
105
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I had really looked forwards to my visit here as I love historic buildings and this certainly met my expectations. I had a great room away from everyone and it was very comfortable and spacious. Unfortunately the heating couldn't be turned off so I opened both windows to the maximum allowed, which wasn't a hardship as I prefer that. I wasn't prepared for the noise from the street, though, early the next morning! Not the fault of the hotel, but it would have helped if the heating thermostat had worked.
Sadly, I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the bed linen, and although the bathroom was nicely furnished and modern, the inside of the shower had mildew and didn't look that clean. Such a shame. As others have observed, the breakfast wasn't up to much, and not very inviting. Staff seemed to steer clear of guests except when going in and coming out and I personally felt very uncomfortable.
The location is obviously the selling point, as well as the stunning architecture, but that's it. It could have been so different.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
I am sorry that you had some issues during your recent stay at The Mercure George Hotel in Reading. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and will investigate the comments made. I was pleased to read that you liked the character of the building.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

There are pictures of rooms on the internet which almost convince me that I must have stayed in a different hotel.

My room was rather small, with ancient furniture, and I didn't need a spirit level to convince me that it was severely out of kilter. However, after descending to the bathroom the floor became much more level.

Quirkiness can, of course, make for a great tourist hotel, but the George doesn’t have the necessary decor in the communal areas. The bar is very plain and I was less than impressed that only real ale on offer was so badly off that it was approaching vinegar. I was told that some people had said it was OK, but others had agreed with me.
Having ventured out into Reading for an office Christmas meal I was slightly perturbed to find the gates to the courtyard locked on my return.

Breakfast, included in the price, was the normal hotel warmed buffet variety served in a rather small room next to the bar.

Overall a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay at The Mercure George in Reading. The Bar has just been refurbished and has been well received by our guests. I will look into your comments regarding the real ale.
As a historical hotel it would be very difficult to have all floors completely level as it would take alot of the character of the building away.
Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss further

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were staying in Reading overnight to attend Christmas function in another hotel that was rather pricey,so we booked here. Right in the centre of Reading shopping area...10 mins walk from railway station. Pleasant room, nice and warm,comfortable bed and good size en suite with a bath,nice and quiet.Very good value, although no breakfast included.Walked few minutes to the 'oracle' shopping,lots of different places to have breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue_upfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Poor and tired rooms, no parking, AWFUL service and standard breakfast.

Real opportunity to create a boutique quality hotel, missed due to lax approach to standards and service.

The location is it's only positive, which might appeal to people who will ultimately leave disappointed.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellerone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at The Mercure George in Reading and i will look into the comments you have made.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Shropshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have just returned from a short trip to Reading to spend time with family. We used the train to travel. The Mecure George is a short walk or taxi ride from the station. The hotel approach oozes history and character. The hotel was built some years ago and has historic links *explained in the welcome pacK" with Charles Dickens (his seat can be found in the reception area). The rooms have been refurbished to a modern standard with a good selection of complimentary hot drinks and toiletries. The floor boards on the first floor did creak (in keeping with the era of the building), but to be fair these were not adjacent to any rooms (landing area only). Our rooms near the top of the building were quiet throughout the night despite the hotel being in the centre of Reading.

Arriving early we tried an afternoon brunch in the bar,we would recommend this to any visitor the omelette in particular was a 10/10.

.

Room Tip: Try the food and relax with a drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George Reading and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.1 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure George Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure George Hotel Reading

Property: Mercure George Hotel Reading
Address: 10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure George Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic hotel is situated in the centre of Reading next to the oracle shopping centre and a short walk to the railway station.The hotel has its own courtyard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure George Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reading
George Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing