We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid in winter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure George Hotel Reading
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Avoid in winter”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel romantic, the food good, and we were given a free upgrade to a very large executive room. However we were very cold. The central heating was only turned on from 08:30 (half an hour after breakfast started) to 10:00 and then again from 17:00 to no later than 23:00, and the radiators never really got properly warm. It is not just that we were having to get up in the cold, but everything in the room was cold to the touch. We requested and were given a small oil electric filled radiator which helped but still left everything cold. The Brassiere restaurant was cold, the adjacent bar had two TVs playing music not to our taste very loud. Street noise would be a problem for light sleepers.

Room Tip: Avoid 314 if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to The Mercure George Hotel in Reading. I was pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and helpfull. I have noted your comments regarding heating which we have since addressed.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    175
    184
    77
    49
See reviews for
33
85
105
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great central location for a pretty good price. It's got a cute frontage. Otherwise, it's fairly average. Staff are nice but don't particularly go out of their way; rooms are pretty clean, but not sparkling (they have the same dirty grout issues I've got at home); beds are variable (some were quite hard, some very soft); the included breakfast was plentiful, but not stellar... rubbery hashbrowns and gloopy beans that had been on the burner too long.

Generally, it was fine, but I wouldn't really recommend it and I probably wouldn't stay there again -- I'd give something else a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indigotima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Mercure George Hotel in Reading. I have noted your comments and will look into them.
Should you wish to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact me on stuart@georgehotelreading.com should you wish to discuss further.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We needed a hotel for the saturday night whilst visiting local family for the weekend. All we needed was a room for the night. The room was very well equiped and had been recently refurbished to a good standard. The hotel is a maze but for a 400 year old building it has Character. Some parts still need attending to. The reception area is still basic but very friendly service. The breakfast is excelent. The car park will cost you £5 for an overnight stay and is a plesant 5 minute easy walk over the river bridge. Better direction on their web site would help. Compared to other hotels in the area this is good value. Would stay again for one weekend night.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Grovesbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George in Reading and i look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I spent one night here on arrival I was shocked at how shabby the place was for a four star hotel the carpet in the foyer was torn, in my bedroom, there were great big chunks out of the walls, and there was a tile off in the bathroom, there was also mould in the bathroom.
but it was what happened after that was the worst.
I had the thai green prawn curry for dinner, when it arrived it looked like floating prawns in dish water, I only eat some of it as it was disgusting.
I have never had pains in my stomach like the ones i got over the next couple of days, I didn't eat for a week, and also was unable to stand up for days..
It is now a week later, last night I eat my first thing in a week, and today I am starting to feel better.
Avoid this place, it is dirty, and god knows what sort of chef they have.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I am really sorry to hear that your stay at The Mercure George Reading was not up to your expectations.
I would very much like to discuss the matter with you in person and would appreciate if you could contact me on 01189 573445.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Chose this hotel as looked good location. Unfortunately, this was only good thing. No car parking, overbearing smell from cleaning products, a room that looked on to a flat roof, very limited room service menu - all of which was low quality - and the worst cooked breakfast I have ever had. At 95 GBP per night this was way over priced. The following night I stayed at the Premier Inn ten minutes walk; positively five star in comparison.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJC_On_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience of The Mercure George in Reading. I will look into your comments.
Please feel free to call me on 01189573445 should you wish to discuss further.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Booked into the hotel by someone else as needed to be in Reading for a meeting (on short notice). Not sure whether the hotel is under a conservation order or they just haven't gotten around to extending the modern centre of Reading yet. It's OK. The room is basic and functional and seemed to have been recently refurbished. Could have been any where and was stripped of the outside character of the building. Don't confuse this hotel with other Mecures as it does seem to lack some of the style I have seen in this brand in France. Even their website seems to hide the fact that they belong to a brand. The bar/resturant/breakfast room serves for the small amount of people. There is a larger room at the end that seems to be the overflow and has the style of a box. The evening meal selction is limited but satisfactory. One redeeming fact was that they had a real ale. I found the hotel secure and quiet.

Breakfast was poor by comparison with similar standard hotels. Coffee was undrinkable. The choice was limited.

Would I stay here again? I would look elsewhere first and at a push yes.

One thing to note that if you turn right out of the hotel you come to a large modern riverside shopping/food/entertainment complex with a cinema. If I'd been with other I would have eaten there on the evening.

Room Tip: If you need a lift to get upstairs then choice is limited, ask before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Mercure George Hotel in Reading. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and will look into your comments.

I was pleased that you enjoyed the real ale and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure George Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure George Hotel Reading

Property: Mercure George Hotel Reading
Address: 10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure George Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic hotel is situated in the centre of Reading next to the oracle shopping centre and a short walk to the railway station.The hotel has its own courtyard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure George Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reading
George Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing