We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay... Good location & clean, but that's it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure George Hotel Reading
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed December 2, 2011

good value single room in a central location but don't expect a great nights sleep.  My room overlooked the courtyard which meant bright lights outside all night and gave the room a funny orange glow along with the noisy Prezzo kitchen fans. On the plus side staff were welcoming and room was clean if a little tired.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottishExposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Mercure George Hotel Reading and i have noted your comments.
I hope to see you on your next trip to Reading

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 601 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Newcastle upon Tyne
2
Reviewed November 30, 2011

It's smack in the centre of Reading, so it's great for all the amenities nearby. However, along with that goes the fact that you can expect it to be a bit noisy. My room looked out onto the Oracle shopping centre, which has a night club, which of course filters its way into the room to a degree. Take earplugs, is my recommendation.
Room was quite comfortable, though the single bed could have been a bit wider, and there was no comfy chair.
There are no lifts, and some of the rooms are a surprisingly long way away from the reception.
It's a very old building which has a certain charm.
Staff very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really do value your feedback. I am a little confused regarding your comments about the noise coming from the night club in the Oracle as it does not have one.

I am glsd you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Mercure George Hotel in Reading
Kind regards
Stuart Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Very close to the station, less than 5 minutes walk. Check-in was quick and the girl behind counter was nice. I has a single room at the rear of the hotel, I couldn't put my finger on it but the general feel of the hotel while walking to my room was somehow wrong, I later decided it was the complete lack of any pictures or features on the long corridors. Thought this a bit of shame as the hotel seemed to have bags of character at the entrance. The room was furnished with dark furniture which didn't really make it very welcoming however the comfy bed more than mad up for it. I hadn't slept in a single bed for years and as I am 6'3 and a bit on the heavy side I was a little worried but I needn’t have been. I ate in the Bar down stairs which was average but far from bad, I wish I explored Reading a bit as less than 1 minute away I found loads of restaurants that probably would have been nicer. Breakfast was fine no complaints. Would I stay there again? Probably.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brit_uk_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Thanks for your review i'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Mercure George Hotel in Reading and i hope to see you on your next trip.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

stayed only one night for £55 including breakfast, Room was clean, everything worked, water was hot, towels were clean. Service was friendly. Breakfast was good. Building is old and like a maze - quite good fun when staggering back to your room late at night. The corridors smelt a little damp but - all in all - great value for money and a perfect central location. It's no boutique hotel or luxury destination but I would happily return. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorwichBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Thank you for your very kind words. They are most appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George Hotel Reading and i look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Well placed for the centre of Reading and the railway station. However those are the only good things that can be said about this hotel. Inside it appears grubby. The decor is depressing. Breakfast is served in a bar area, the beer keg in the corner gives it away. Again the space is dreary and depressing The range and quality of the food was terrible. I ordered 2 poached eggs and inside they were raw. The cooked food on the breakfast buffet was tepid. At £85 B&B, this is one Mercure to avoid.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulsterman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of the hotel on this occasion.
I will look into your comments personally and should you wish to contact me to discuss further please do on 0118 9573445.

Regards

Stuart Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The hotel offered value for money. The room was adequate for a short stay, but would have been too small for working. The nights were very quiet, without any noise from other rooms or the street, guaranteeing a good sleep. However, the charge for internet WIFI was too high in comparison too other places, where often it is for free.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure George Hotel in Reading in the near future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

What has been spent on this hotel is, I guess where it matters in the room which was comfortable and clean. Room was facing road and poor sound proofing meant passers by and traffic disturbed sleep. Bar and breakfast serving areas are very run down with old basic furniture. Staff were pleasant and helpful. A no nonsense cheaper alternative to the Hilton and Madjeski, but for me, having experienced, I would spend the extra for the hotels with car parking, gyms and ambience and give this a miss. Sorry - because the staff deserve the custom.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the road to get a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Autobiography88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

I am sorry on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at The Mercure George Hotel Reading. I do treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and thanyou for your comments

Regards

Stuart Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#7 of 31 in Reading
2,532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure George Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure George Hotel Reading

Address: 10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range: $78 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure George Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic hotel is situated in the centre of Reading next to the oracle shopping centre and a short walk to the railway station.The hotel has its own courtyard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure George Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reading
George Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing