We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of Beech House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beech House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Lovely little hotel, set back from the main road. The hotel is full of character, well kept and has a lovely garden. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, good quality and quantity!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel, very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LindaMcc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 319 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

We spent two nights in this little hotel which has an unusual feel to it. It is a Victorian house set in a well cared for and pretty garden, surprisingly quiet though on a main road. We had a superior room at £90 a night. The room was huge with the biggest bed we have ever seen and very comfortable. This room and the other superior room we saw was a bit dark because of the trees but had a side garden view. The hotel was spotless and the service impeccable. The staff went out of their way to help and provided lots of local information, maps, times and change for the buses etc.The breakfasts were excellent with the full English option much enjoyed by my connoisseur husband! If I had to criticize anything it would be their choice of decor and pictures but that's just me! The hotel is directly opposite a Beefeater restaurant where we had a good and very cheap meal.

Room Tip: Probably the quietest rooms are at the back of the hotel. Ours was room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyjand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were on a work trip: 2 nights booked, but work meant we were unable to stay the second night: I would stress to anyone here to please NOTE THEIR 48-hour cancellation policy!!

Manager was unwilling to listen and really just stated their policy: that is of course his prerogative, but will mean future trips to Reading will use more main-line hotels for our company!

Somewhat unpleasant conversation (no doubt his perspective will be similar - we had "enjoyed" a long day's work and to face that unmoving attitude was not an enjoyable experience!).

Felt more like a nice B&B than a hotel.

Breakfast very nice, although if they are full then there may not be enough space.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeIOW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Visited for the first time recently. Although about 20 mins walk from the centre of Reading, it is a lovely place to stay - wonderful smallish period hotel with a well-kept garden. Staff are very helpful including buying in free range eggs for us and giving us a quiet room at the back of the hotel. Room was clean and comfortable with good bathroom facilities. Wifi is available although we didn't use. Breakfast - good choice of home-cooked food. Ample car parking at front of hotel. Slightly old world charm to this place which we loved. As mentioned - away from town but chain steak house nearby if you don't want to walk into town. Would definitely recommend esp if you like a quiet, quaint place with courteous, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear, overlooking garden are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SearchForGoodFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We only stayed for 1 night on 9th July but were very glad we chose this hotel. We arrived early at 11.30 am (check-in normally 2pm) hoping to gain access to 1 of the 3 rooms we booked just so we could get changed ready for my son's graduation ceremony. After having had coffee on the terrace in the garden we were told that all the rooms were ready for us and having seen that my mother had mobility problems they made a bedroom available on the ground floor without us even having to ask. The customer service by all the staff during our short stay was second to none and the cooked breakfast is definitely a 'must'.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jackiboy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Just visited this lovely quiet oasis in Reading. Lovely rooms and great breakfast. We sat in the sun in the garden during the afternoon - amazing for the middle of such a busy area. We have now stayed 3 times in different rooms and it has always been great.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Back to a great relaxing little gem in Reading. We keep coming back as we love this place. it is excellent a very comfortable home from home
A calm haven within walking distance of Reading. ideal base for trips to London Legoland the Cotswolds Oxford and many more

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary190957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,920 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 31 in Reading
566 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#7 of 31 in Reading
2,503 reviews
1.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,052 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House Hotel

Address: 60 Bath Road, Reading RG30 2AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Reading
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: $91 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech House Reading
Beech Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing