We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It in no way has 'amazing' rooms, but damn it's been setup really well and has good staff...”
Review of Beech House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beech House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

So I'm at the hotel right now as I write this review... Now the rooms are basically as you would expect for the price... A good enough bed, en-suit, some coffee, nice enough shower... Nothing to shout about but basically reasonable... But damn it's been setup really well and has good staff...

They've done away so many annoying hotel conventions; they don't have a check-in desk where you annoyingly wait while a member of hotel staff battles with a poorly designed hotel computer system... They've replaced all that with just a waiting room with papers and a tv; you just give your name on the way in and they go sort it out and bring you you're room card.

Then they give you a quick tour of where everything is as you're guided to you're room with them kindly taking your bags...

And to top it all off, gave me a free room upgrade just as a larger one happened to be spare...

I've never written a review on here, but the service of this place puts many of the 5* hotels I've stayed in to shame... Highly recommended.

Side note: it was about a 20 minute walk into town which for me was fine, but just worth being aware of.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Beech House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 308 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was our second stay at the hotel, the first being three years ago. As a family group of eight adults we had two twin and two double rooms for one night with no complaints from anyone. Greeting was friendly and professional and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The rooms were also well heated with thermostats on the radiators if you wanted to turn the temperature down. We had a room facing the front which was spacious and were not troubled by road noise.

I needed a page copied from a book but the hotel does not have a photocopier. However, the manager could not have been more helpful and first tried to photograph it to print out but eventually, and without being asked, typed the page out for me.

As commented by others, the breakfast room is bright and cheerful. Breakfast was enjoyed by everyone but some thought the bacon could be better cooked. Scrambled egg was well cooked.

Would definately stay again if the need arises.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mercury6067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A clean, quiet hotel with good service standards, adequate car parking and a functioning Wi-Fi facility. Stayed for four nights in late October 2013 and cannot find any fault with the accommodation or the service offered by the staff. The hot breakfasts were more than adequate but previous comments about the crispiness of the bacon were accurate. However the staff looked after us very well as my companion asked for her bacon to be very crispy and it was. Overall a very good place to stay if you want a B+B hotel in Reading . We intend to return to the Beech House Hotel on future family visits to Reading.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Rear rooms overlook a quiet garden with mature trees.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

With it's own car-park and set within a large Victorian Manor, the hotel (B&B basis only), is quiet, good value and comfortable. Breakfast was included and at least satisfactory unless you are fussy about the quality of eggs or want a large, builder's breakfast!
Every thing is clean and tidy. All the services worked well and our room included a trouser-press nicely hidden away in a tailor-made cupboard. Someone has been thinking about what it is like to actually stay in the hotel and done a very good job.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are particularly quiet. Taxi to Central Reading is £7 (1.4 miles, 2 Km) with buses...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ObiePowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Ok so it's far from being the Ritz but, you know what, I don't fancy paying the Ritz prices! If you're just after a comfortable, clean and welcoming place to stay in Reading then you can't go wrong with the Beech House. Stayed for three nights without any issues. Breakfast was lovely each morning. Beefeater pub/restaurant across the road which is convenient for a bite to eat in the evening. Will stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

There is very little to criticise about the Beech House Hotel - it's a lovely Victorian building, a former grand family home, refurbished but with a lot of atmosphere still and modern plumbing!

You have to ring the bell when you arrive and one of the friendly proprietors answers, checks you in and carries luggage to your room if you're upstairs. The staff is all friendly, and will also call you taxis etc on request.

It's small, about 18 rooms, and more like a superior guest house than a hotel in some ways. Guests do need to be aware that there is no bar, no restaurant and no room service. There is however a Beefeater pub right opposite where you can get drinks and good solid pub food if you don't want to go into Reading. If you do, there are buses to the city and a taxi costs about £8-9 with a tip. There are excellent restaurants, most in the Caversham area, and to there the fare is on average $10 with tip.

Back at the hotel, the rooms are very comfortable and ours had all we needed. We had a superior double room, very large, with lots of storage space, an emperor size bed and an en-suite with an excellently powerful shower/big, fluffy towels. On the down side, my husband was perplexed as the shower was stuck in a low position (someone had tried to tape it to the vertical bar but it always slipped down) and he had to crouch like an ape to shower.

The rooms are spread over the building on 3 levels. The hotel is on a main road though set back, so I don't think rooms at the front would be too noisy. We had No 11 on the 1st floor at the side which was very quiet indeed, looking over a wood and some of the garden. From what I saw in other reviews, it may be wise to get a superior double as other guests complain of small or even lumpy beds: Ours I must say was hue and supremely comfortable.

There is a pretty garden at the back of the building, but if the weather's not good, there are two sitting rooms and a small room with a good tea and coffee machine.

The breakfast bar is down a few stairs and very bright and cheerful. Its fun too as two tables are placed together and you sit at either end feeling like lord and lady of the manner shouting 'pass the milk!'

I would say the breakfast was the only real disappointment: it was as they say in Scotland 'peely wally', weak and weedy. There was plenty of cereal, fruit juice and fruit, but the full English was sort of floppy. The bacon was microwaved, the egg flat and very white, and the beans and tomatoes in no way cheering it up. We couldn't indulge in the sausage, but it might have helped to beef (or pork) it up.

If the breakfast was tweaked a little - grilled bacon, crispier fried egg, maybe some mushrooms, it would really have lifted the stay. You can if you prefer also have various types of egg on toast. Plus points were a cafetiere of pretty decent coffee and plenty of toast - the staff was also very happy to toast my gluten free bread for me.

We did also think one of the owners should maybe check the rooms at times as some bulbs were out and there were little bits of wallpaper peeling in places - replacing the bulbs and applying a little glue would just give a slightly more slick look.

It may be a little hard to get about the building if you have mobility difficulties though there is a ramp at the front door: I would double check before your stay if there are rooms on the ground floor - but wherever you are in the building I think you might need to negotiate the few steps to the breakfast room

This is superb value for money in this location, at about £85 for a superior double and breakfast, so it would be hard to find too much fault after a very good stay. I have to say that with a slightly better breakfast, this would be 4 and a half to 5 star considering value for money and would deserve to be fully booked every night!.

Room Tip: get a superior room as I think its worthwhile for more space and comfort
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hfulton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

courtesy, thoughtfulness, not being pushy and cleanliness, are the rule in this comfortable and charming Victorian-era hotel. the stay is comfortable and the rooms are lovely furnished and equipped ....... but if something is missing .... just ask and get even more.
in perfect English style, breakfast is excellent ..... but also European-style breakfast is very good ....... for the rest ...... just ask and you will surely remain satisfied.
Feel pampered is a beautiful thing .... and they are good at this
beechhousehotel is a good example of tourist accommodation.
good!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertomilazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,858 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
543 reviews
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,020 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House Hotel

Address: 60 Bath Road, Reading RG30 2AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Reading
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#5 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range: $89 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Beech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech House Reading
Beech Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing