We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I understand why it is ranked #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beech House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beech House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I understand why it is ranked #1”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Having seen Beech House ranked as number one in Reading, I thought I would give the place a try. Now I get it: the place is immaculate and the service first class.

The room I stayed in was number 10, just at the top of the first flight of stairs. It is a bit narrow but still plenty of room to swing the proverbial cat! Well furnished and with a good digital TV and, importantly, excellent free WiFi. The bathroom is lovely and the power shower could strip the paint off your car: certainly invigorates you in the morning.

Service was great: I tend to drink quite a lot of orange juice and the gentleman in charge provided me with a huge glass with no fuss. Breakfast was also excellent and served in a very pleasant dining room.

Reading is full of bland chain hotels: Beech House is like a country home. Try them first!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nferguso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    87
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
108
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed with my husband and 14 year old daughter for Reading Festival (first timers)
Hotel clean, comfortable, room not too hot so got a good nights sleep. Great breakfast. Staff friendly, nothing too much trouble. Arranged taxi too and from festival - resonably priced.
Relaxing place to come back to after long day/night - would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have stayed here 6 or 7 times on business trips. I don't usually like B&Bs and would go for a hotel (just personal preference) This is a gem though among MANY thorns that populate reading. Rooms are very large and some are excellent quality (others that are not quite as good are still very nice) very comfortable beds, good tea and coffee selection, great choice of TV and the best part is the proprietor. He is very polite and professional, always remembers who you are and I always call him up for a room.
Breakfast is also nice - not the best I have had but there is plenty of choice and for a business of this size, I would usually expect much lower standard

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunslave2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This comfortable, quite stately, small hotel with an unprepossing exterior has an interesting interior and really lovely small garden. The standard double we had was compact but immaculately clean. The bedding probably needs updating (pillows/ bedcover).

There has been huge attention to detail everywhere and the decor generally is immaculate and once again immaculately clean.

Breakfast was very nice and there was a comprehensive menu offered.

The Manager who welcomed us in the evening was hugely attentive, polite and efficient.. I recommend this hotel for a stop off that is easy to find and fits the bill in an affordable way..

Room Tip: The standard may be a little small for some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed for two nights over the 1st weekend of the Olympics as a convienient and reasonably priced base for travelling into London. This has the feel of a small country house hotel with nice clean decor with period features and a lovely garden at the back. The welcome and service by the manager and staff are excellent, the rooms are a good size; we had a double room with a rollaway bed for a teenager and didn't feel at all cramped. The breakfast is good, one small critical comment; bathrooms really should have locks on them and ours needed updating. The shower is no more than adequate, cracked tiles and fading paint with small patches of damp mould on the ceiling giving a must odour.

Room Tip: Some road noise at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenwood136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel in June and will definately be bookng there again. I was reluctant to write a good review as I don't want the Hotel to become so popular, I can't get booked in!!!
The hotel was clean, well decorated and had a relaxed and 4 star feel to it. We received first class service, the staff were friendly and very flexible. We encountered a problem with a member of our party and the hotel staff went beyond the call of duty to help us and them. We can't thank them enough.
We will be back soon (providing I can get booked in!!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The rooms are spacious so good for families with small children. Amenities like tissue paper and a common dining table for guests could have made the place more homely . As it were during the time when my party of 3 adults stayed, we had to have take away meal for 3 because the restaurant we headed for dinner was closed for a private function. When we got back to the hotel, we asked the manager if we could have our meal in the dining hall but were told to have it in our room. Although we were given the use of plates, the problem was that there was only one chair in our room and 2 of us had to stand whilst eating around a smallish dressing table where we placed the take away dishes. We thought that a hotel rated 4 1/2 stars in trip advisor would have at least let us have the use of their dining table. In fact, I saw the staff having his dinner at a proper dining table in an area accessible to guests. The garden had a table but having dinner outside would have turned our hot meals cold very quickly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAXX3483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
489 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
1,725 reviews
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
943 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 32 in Reading
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House Hotel

Property: Beech House Hotel
Address: 60 Bath Road, Reading RG30 2AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Reading
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#5 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech House Reading
Beech Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing