We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Middle of the road”
Review of Rainbows Lodge

Rainbows Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbows Lodge
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Middle of the road”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Rainbows Lodge is conveniently located for central Reading, especially as it is a 10 minute walk away from the railway station. Another plus is that on-site parking is available free of charge to the rear of the building (although the spaces are a bit awkward to manoeuvre into). Service and check in/check out was very good, efficient and friendly.

I was given an annex next to the main building which lead out onto the main road. I wasn't put off by having an annex as it was quite convenient to be able to literally go straight into your room (which was secure and accessed through 2 locking doors). Also, as this was room appeared to have been converted from a lounge, it was a very good size indeed.

However, the condition of the room was pretty poor. The decor was past it's best, the furniture and sanitary ware in the bathroom was shabby and tired and the beds had definitely seen better days. In addition, during the conversion from lounge to self-contained annex, I think they must have scrimped on or just overlooked the installation of sound-proofing as noise from the other rooms was transmitted loud and clearly (although the road noise from outside was pretty loud anyway which helped drown out the noises of neighbours).

It wouldn't be fair to give this hotel a bad review though as you can't look at the facilities in isolation without considering the very reasonable price paid for the room. To have a hotel in central Reading with free car parking for just £40 per night warrants some drawbacks, and so long as you are prepared to not have high expectations, then the Rainbows Lodge delivers just about enough to keep it a middle of the road hotel!

Room Tip: It might be worth checking if your room is in the main hotel or if you are staying in the annex next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wycombe-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
8
11
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Four of us, who are members of a committee, needed a place in Reading to (a) stay overnight and (b) have an all-day meeting. The organization we are part of is a charity, and has not much income so since we needed something in the budget range and yet fairly central I chose Rainbows Lodge, where we booked two singles plus an apartment. The rooms were comfortable, parking for two members' cars was fine and the apartment suited itself well to our purpose, especially when we rearranged the furniture to give ourselves a circular meeting space. The wi-fi worked well. It was also great to have restaurants and cafes so close at hand, especially the Standard Tandoori right across the street, where we had a superb dinner. The best part of staying here was being so close to the river and the Thames Path, which I explored in the early morning and late afternoon when we'd finished our meeting.
The downside: the sofabed in the apartment was covered in ugly stains and looked really shabby and grotty, so we used the bedspread as a throw. Some of the crockery and cutlery in the kitchen hadn't been washed properly so we had to re-wash everything before using it. One of the three dining chairs was rickety and the window seats were rather hard. And Caversham Road is very heavily trafficked and therefore noisy so we had to keep the windows closed. It was not an ideal venue, but for the price it was adequate and the location was good so we shall probably make these same arrangements for next year's meeting.
Tip: bring earplugs if you are likely to be in a front room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

As I was standing in the corridor unlocking my room door, a rat ran across my foot and down the corridor. That pretty much set the tone for my stay in this dump.

I didn't expect luxury because of the prices on offer, but the room was so poky and stuffy, with no airflow at all - it was like sleeping in a cupboard that hasn't seen fresh air for years.

The bed ranks amongst the most uncomfortable matresses I have ever had the misfortune of sleeping on, accompanied by the sounds of various critters in the walls / under the floorboards.

I can't comment on the food because the hotel was so dirty and rat-infested that I wouldn't dare eat anything that had come from their kitchen.

The room was in a pretty bad state with cracks in the walls, peeling wallpaper and odd stains everywhere.

They hadn't even bothered cleaning the toilet in the room I checked into - absolutely vile.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. Anywhere else. If this is the only hotel available in Reading (as was the case fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed June 2012 in an executive double on 1st floor overlooking main road to front for 3 nights. Lovely room, tea/coffee facilities (gorgeous biscuits), trouser press, clean and modern bath with shower over. Very big bay window. Really quiet but a bit of noise early on a morning with traffic as its a main road but nothing you dont expect from a city hotel on a main road. A minutes walk away from the river. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetter186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berskhire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Looks like this place has rooms of different standards. My family stayed there and I was a bit anxious having read the reviews but they had a room in the back which turned out to be quiet and light even if not massive. Beds and towels were clean. Just seems to be that your experience depends on which room you get.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Boiler was broken - no hot water. Toilet hadn't been cleaned. Room at front overlooking main road and only single glazing so couldn't sleep. Limited parking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brahmsCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Prices: They are on the cheaper side
Location: is good, major things are nearby
Noise: Yes lots of it, from the road as well as from your neighbours (Walls are paper thin)
Staff: Did not had much interaction, check-in was quick
Cleanliness: Hotel itself is clean, but room cleaning needs to improve
Room: I got one on the 1st floor, good enough, with a double bed, TV, Hair Dryer, Kettle. And yes a staircase (4 steps) to the bathroom, Was ok for me may not be for others
Wi-Fi: Yes and Excellent
Food: Avoid the attached Italian restaurant
Car Park: They have limited space available, you need to be lucky enough to get one

Problems: The central water boiler was not working for 3 days, which required the guests to take keys for other rooms (which had electric boilers) for having a bath. This was annoying and dis-comforting, and then 3 days of lead time to fix a boiler is too much.

Others: If you have huge suitcases then avoid this hotel as they do not have a lift and carrying luggage through the tiny staircase will be a problem

Most of the floor boards creak

Room Tip: Not much to choose from but all rooms look different, single beds are better then double beds get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 mi away
Thameside Hotel
Thameside Hotel
#19 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure George Hotel Reading
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbows Lodge

Property: Rainbows Lodge
Address: 132-138 Caversham Road, Reading RG1 8AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbows Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rainbows Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbows Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing