We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelllent one night stopover”

Donnington House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Donnington House Hotel
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excelllent one night stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Hotel was ideal for a one or two night stopover. Is in the process of a makeover which is looking smart. We arrived to a pleasant welcome, saw me with a walking stick and immediately offered to change us to a ground floor room. Newley decorated and everything in the room was new including the beds, and bedding one double and one single. Not a huge room but nicely furnished and had everything that you would get in a much more expensive establishment. Small bathroom but again all brand new, very good shower. Thought it may be noisy on the main road but shut the window and you could not hear the traffic at all. Breakfast was excellent, again on a par with much larger establishments. Pleasant helpful manager, who seemed to be doing umpteen jobs at once. We would certainly use it again, this time was to attend a wedding just round the corner, so it was ideal.

Room Tip: Seems to be just ask the Manager, if they have another room vacant you get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Our one night stay at the Donnington House Hotel was excellent - we had booked a double room but were upgraded (without having to ask) to an available triple room, which was very spacious - the lady at reception was very helpful in making our stay at comfortable as possible. The bathroom was excellent, the large TV was a plus and the bed was comfortable. The rooms were very clean and the hotel was quiet despite being on one of the main roads through Reading.

The breakfast was good in the morning, although there was no special option for vegetarians which we would have liked; we were still served ample cooked breakfast, and the waiter was particularly helpful. The continental breakfast was also adequate.

Parking space is very good, we parked at the front of the hotel where we could see the car from our room, but there is lots of parking away from the road, at the back of the hotel. The free wi-fi is also very quick and simple to log on to.

For another stay in Reading we would definitely visit the Donnington House Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwhite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed here on the way to bath. Comfy, clean and a great breakfast. Enjoyed the stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taniano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed in en suite room good size room and shower room nice and clean nothing fancy but ok . Breakfast could be of a better again it's ok .overall it just does average for the money

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

It does what it says on the tin and short walk/taxi ride from Reading centre but handy for A329m/M4 when I wanted to leave. The staff were all very helpful and room was large, with plenty of Parking. On a busy road during rush hour but at night it quietens down.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338Peaceandquiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

I booked this the day before my one-night stay last week. I needed something close to Heathrow so I could get there quickly in the morning. In that respect it fit the bill. They have en-suite and regular rooms; I chose an en-suite.

The room was tiny and felt like a dormitory. No shampoo in the room and when I went to ask for some, I was told it wasn't supplied. A ledge on which to put bathroom supplies extended over the sink making it tough to turn on the taps or to wash my face. The TV suddenly stopped working in the night. The bed was ok and the room was clean. There is no food in the hotel apart from breakfast, (so bit of a misnomer to call it a hotel.)

There's an Indian restaurant across the road at which you get 10% off if you say you are staying at this hotel. But other options for food are limited and the area wasn't the best. There is a very busy road in the front, although I was in the back of one of the two buildings and didn't hear cars. The free wi-fi was good.

In summary, the price was way too much for the quality and I certainly wouldn't go back. There are lots of options for hotels and I know there is better value for money out there. Next time I will research a little better.

  • Liked — Wi-fi nfor internet access.
  • Disliked — High cost versus spartan nature of hotel and room.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gimills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

A great disappointment in every way. Although refurbishment was taking place, not one of us (four rooms, on business) were told.

Rooms were cold, shower was cold, breakfast was cold. Upon complaining about the shower I was offered room 20, in another building!.
The road outside noisy, and apart from the aforementioned curry house which we did not try, any other entertainment is a longish walk or taxi into town.

The rooms were supposed to cost 85GBP per night, after all our complaining we paid 50GBP.

Next night we were booked into the Renaissance in Reading. The rooms cost 65GBP and were of the highest standard. 4* hotel with leisure and spa in the centre of town. Hmmmm choices choices.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelostcount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.6 mi away
Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
1.2 mi away
Thameside Hotel
Thameside Hotel
#19 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rainbows Lodge
Rainbows Lodge
#25 of 31 in Reading
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
3.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington House Hotel

Property: Donnington House Hotel
Address: 82-86 London Road, Reading RG1 5AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Donnington House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Donnington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing