We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Lunch”
Review of The Black Boy

The Black Boy
Ranked #33 of 624 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We’re delighted to be the new owners of The Black Boy, Shinfield. We are currently closed for an extensive refurbishment and are due to reopen on Wednesday 8th March 2017. We will be updating this our website shortly and you will be able to book a table online from mid February, so watch this space! We look forward to seeing you. Barons Pub Company
Newbury
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

7 of us booked for a saturday lunch in the bar. Total cost was just under £180 incluing drinks, 5 of us had 3 courses the other 2 had 2, so good value.
Food was very good and not in short supply.
Will most certainly visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    152
    55
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good wholesome food at affordable price”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

service is good and quick, staff very attentive, good home cook food at reasonable affordable price, but lately the pudding (pavalova with strawberries) has shrunk - price the same as previous year! Good size portion of veges with meal!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kangaroopee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lunch time special”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have a korean friend who regularly pops back here. First lunch is always the black boy for fish and chips!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pitball2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Favourite Sunday Lunchtime Place”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We live about a 2 mile walk away from this pub and it so it suits us perfectly. Never been disappointed with the food or the service. However busy, we have never had to wait too long. Our favourite lunchtime meal is to share the Black boy meze between 2 of us which is probably meant as a starter but there is plenty for 2 of us as a meal. They serve the best chips ever - so crunchy. We take my partners 3 teenage children as they love it too - there is always something on the menu for everyone. The baguettes and chips are great value if you don't want a big meal and there is a good choice. It is always busy on a Sunday though particulary in the summer as there is a lovely deck out the back so get there early to get a table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Baguette's”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The food in this pub is delicious, have dined here twice in two weeks. As its the festive season it is really busy at lunch times with Christmas lunches, so booking is advised.

Cajun Chicken Baguette and the best chips EVER!

www.blackboyshinfield.co.uk

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sleekpeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Boy also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The Black Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing