We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast In Reading” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Browns Brasserie and Bar

Browns Brasserie and Bar
Ranked #52 of 610 Restaurants in Reading
Cuisines: Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Browns ReadingRubbing shoulders with chic boutiques and vibrant galleries, Browns Reading is the perfect place to soak up the cultural buzz of Berkshire’s well-connected hub.Whether at work or play, Browns offers a uniquely relaxing atmosphere. Unwind over a plate of freshly cooked, modern food. Start your weekend in style with one of our expertly mixed cocktails. Or reward the day’s efforts with a glass of what you fancy from our well-chosen wine and beer rangeLook at the map and our contact details to see how to find us.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast In Reading”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

My wife and I called in to Browns in the Oracle Reading for breakfast today, while shopping. We took advantage of a two for one offer on their Traditional Breakfast (£9). This included dry cured smoked back bacon, Cumberland sausage, grilled tomato, black pudding, mushrooms, baked beans, two eggs (any style) and toast. It proved to be an excellent choice.

I am disappointed more often than not when buying a cooked breakfast, but this one was first rate. The ingredients were all clearly good quality and cooked to perfection. The bacon in particular was excellent and the toast was on a completely different level to the cheap bread used in many establishments. We couldn’t fault any of it. The service was also first class. Our waitress (Margaret) was friendly, efficient and helpful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chappers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalandSam-Browns, Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Chappers0,

Wow, what a wonderful review.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. Our offer is continuing into the month of May so please take advantage of this.

I have also passed on your complimets to Margaret who is very happy to hear your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Charlotte Allen
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    153
    95
    58
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Average Saturday lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We ate as a family for a slightly late lunch

It was very busy and we immediately got the impression that there were not enough staff.

The food was slightly better than average, but the steaks were well cooked.

Likes : Location and atmosphere
Dislikes : Our waiter worked very hard, but he needed help

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wg284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalandSam-Browns, Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Wg284,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent visit here with us at Browns Reading.

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch. It is a shame that perhaps there were not enough staff on this occasion. Please be assured that this is not common for us. We have taken your comments on board and are fully staffed at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Charlotte Allen
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a fab family early evening dinner. The waiter was excellent and the food beautiful. Nice atmosphere. Would thoroughly recommend the rib eye steak.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Canny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalandSam-Browns, Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Canny C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderul review.

I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon to perhaps try out some other dishes on our menu, or our new cocktail list!

Kind regards,
Charlotte Allen
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnersh, United Kingdom
1 review
“£19 Sirloin on the specials menu…Wasn't special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I both heard good things about Browns, but our first visit on 4th April 2014 was disappointing. We both ordered the 9oz Sirloins and we were told that we would be getting 2 x 5oz sirloins as they didn't have the 9oz…Odd to have it on the specials if they didn't have it but not a problem. The Sirloins were both a little over cooked for medium rare, and tough, and quite fatty. Chips were fine, but one small mushroom and half a small tomato didn't really seem like much of an effort, service was fine…but food was not good enough for a £19 special. Plenty of choices to eat in Reading so think Browns need to put more effort into their food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DAVE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalandSam-Browns, Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi DAVE P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review about your recent visit with us.

It is such a shame to hear that our Sirloin special was not as advertised and I apologise for this.

Our menu will be changing come the summer months.

We hope to see you in the near future to try it out.

Kind regards,
Charlotte Allen
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Roast in Reading”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I took my family for a meal to Browns a few Sundays ago. We all had the roasts. I don't think I have ever had a better Lamb roast. The meat was so tender and the Yorkshire pudds were perfect, lovely gravy and loads of veg. Service was very good as well. French waiter very helpful, since my wife is wheat and dairy intolerant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aloyz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalandSam-Browns, Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Aloyz M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent visit here with us at Browns Reading.

I have passed on your compliments to our head chef who is very pleased to hear you enjoyed the Roast Lamb.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Charlotte Allen
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns Brasserie and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Browns Brasserie and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing