We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well run, but beware traffic noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Well run, but beware traffic noise”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Good, clean, comfortable bedrooms but sleep was disturbed by traffic noise. If you book here, would be well worth while asking for the quietest possible room.

Excellent full breakfast. Good value as we only had to pay for two adults - our 10 year old twins (with big appetites) ate free.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room or you will not sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLondon2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    295
    89
    31
    31
See reviews for
185
212
55
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

everythig was great - the staff were very polite , the room was very clean , i had a comfy sleep and was in a very comfy bed, the foor was more than acceptable and was very , parking wasent up to much could get in but not out ,the location was okay the outside could of been better presented but overall the place was great.

Room Tip: go for the deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Storme Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was a break for London, so staying in Reading was a very good alternative to London hotel prices, and travelling by train into London daily, just missing the signalling problem, other than that travel was easy, simple and quick. A great saving on London prices, and a very pleasant stay. Hotel clean and quiet, we had a room overlooking the car park, and had no noise disturbance from it at all, the front of the hotel is overlooking a very busy road, so whether the noise is worse there I do not know. They say it is a short walk to the hotel, it is a reasonable walk, but hardly short, but it is well worth the walk to the station along the river front and through the town, and, if you really want to, a break can be taking in the Wetherspoons on the way, then on to the station. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, at any time. The staff were more than helpful, a truly warm and welcome hotel, well worth staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park, this is at the back, and is certainly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janann444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

whatever you do, ask to stay higher and not face the road - its too late when you get there. staff were not interested in transferring me to a new room and hence i had a lousy nights sleep. shame, nice looking hotel and reasonably priced but useless if you cannot sleep!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaahh1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to provide this due to the noise disturbances you encountered throughout your stay.

Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Naina

Online Customer Service Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having arrived a Reading Station I went to get a taxi to the Premier Inn. The taxi driver told me that it was only 5 minutes away on foot and so I didn't need one. It was quite difficult to find, took nearly 20 minutes and I only got there after asking three different people. That said, the receptionist was excellent - she explained everything and was friendly and accommodating. The facilities were as expected - comfortable but basic. I was unable to connect to the WiFi so missed out on the free 30 minutes. My biggest gripe was the restaurant. I arrived at 9.15pm on a Sunday evening, desperate for something to eat, but the restaurant had closed. It would have been useful to have known this at the time of booking. The friendly receptionist was able to direct me to a restaurant close by.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are right on a very busy road which was quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LutonHatter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My friend and I were looking forward to spending a girlie weekend in Reading. So I was so pleased when I found a Premier Inn a Hop, Skip and a Jump away from the Oracle shopping centre. The hotel is modern and extremely clean and smelt fresh and cared for. Our room was on the 3rd floor - the lift up to the floors was initially confusing but we finally got the hang of it. Our room was spacious and clean and we had the added bonus of a bath. The room overlooked the car-park and the only noise we heard was from the local church where the bells bonged spectaculary on Sunday morning what a great sound to wake up to. The breakfast was superb with lots of choice especially for me as a Vegetarian I would recommend the veggie sausages. Staff were friendly especially at Breakfast. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our experience with Premier Inn has been extremely positive. Both in London and Reading our rooms were clean, bathrooms thoroughly modern, and the staff was very friendly, pleasant, and helpful. The Reading Central Premier in is less than a block away from a bus stop, just across (a busy) road from the Oracle shopping area (which is also connected to the Broad Street shopping area), and from there just two more blocks to the rail station. We had a great time in Reading and a very comfortable stay at the Premier Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
1,725 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Address: Letcombe Street, Reading RG1 2HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reading
#3 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#11 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Reading opposite the Oracle shopping centre, just 15 minutes drive from M4. The train station is a 10 minute walk and it's just 5 minutes walk for nightlife entertainment. For sport the Madejski stadium is nearby. Our Reading Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Reading Hotel Reading
Holiday Inn Reading
Reading Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing