We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay with Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

You know exactly what you get with Premier Inn - a well sized, clean room, friendly staff, reasonably priced food that's served quickly. This hotel is very well situated and is directly opposite the Oracle shopping centre and 5 minutes walk away from the Vue cinema. The car park is small so if you're taking a car, arrive early or you won't get a parking space. Well done Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 896 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Typical Premier inn style, clean, modern. Had been recently decorated as the floor my room was on smelt of fresh paint in the hallway (but not in the room thankfully). Check in was particularly slow with a queue of people waiting for the 1 member of staff serving even though there were 2 others sitting at the desk who appeared to be doing very little. Car parking is also pretty poor but then it is a town centre hotel, I arrived at 2pm on a Friday afternoon and it was almost full at that time and parking across the road at the shopping centre is very expensive so it is worth remembering this.

Overall it's a fine hotel for the money and in a very convenient location for Reading town centre.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I booked a saver room on Premier Inn's website. It's great value for money if you have fixed plans, as it's paid in advance and is non refundable.
They send you an email a few days before arrival to give you directions on how to reach the Inn along with contact numbers.
The room is clean and modern, cleaning staff warm and helpful.
I didn't try it, but they offer breakfast and dinner. Free wi-fi for thirty minutes.
The location is a very close walk to the city centre.
If Reading is your destination and you're after good value for money without compromising cleanliness, you can't go wrong with this one. Just book ahead to guarantee the best price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hintsandtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

stayed at reading central end october 2012 staff were very friendly they even dressed up for halloween abit scary when your eating breakfast lol, the rooms very clean and comfortable and the meal deal was fantastic couldnt go wrong. Location was great central to all the shops and bars we stayed two nights had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I couldn't have expected any more. Great budget hotel where staff are very welcoming and friendly! They were able to give me a satisfactory answer to all my queries to the point where they went out their way to help. The breakfast was a highlight experience and satisfied totally. The rooms were especially clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rourkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Last time I stayed in Reading I unfortunately booked the Penta Hotel which was an appalling experience (see review).

I have to confess that I’ve previously avoided staying at Premier Inn hotels as I was under the impression that they were cheap, cheerful and on a par with Travel Lodge. But this time I decided if it’s good enough for Lenny Henry then perhaps a Premier Inn is worth trying (although I doubted he’d ever actually stayed in one!!)

What a superb decision this turned out to be. The Reading Premier Inn provided me with a delightful stay in a smart, clean, spacious, friendly and efficient hotel. Excellent value for money.
Prior to arriving I received an email with directions and a text with contact details in case of any last minute queries – very impressive!

The hotel website states that it has limited parking, but I was fortunate to find a space which at £5 a day is a bargain compared to most town centre car parks. If no spaces are available there is a large car park at The Oracle just across the road (although there seemed to be availability at the hotel throughout my stay). The location is perfect for accessing the town centre – a five-minute walk and you’re in the centre and a fifteen minute walk takes you to all areas of the main town, including the railway station.

On arrival the reception staff were all genuinely friendly and helpful – check-in couldn’t have been easier or more welcoming (and I loved the Halloween outfits!).

I was staying in room 410. My room was far more spacious than I expected, extremely clean and comfortable. Make no mistake, this isn’t a luxurious, five star hotel but then it doesn’t purport to be and isn’t priced as such. However, my stay couldn’t have been nicer. The contents of the room cover all your needs (work table, smart decor, good lighting, large LED TV on the wall, sufficient storage for a few days stay, tea/coffee facilities, hair dryer, well fitted bathroom with a good shower and smart suite). Signs indicate that Premier Inn ‘guarantee’ a good night’s sleep which I did indeed have – although there was a little noise from the road, the temperature of the room was easily adjustable to my needs and the bed was extremely comfortable (with choice of pillows!).

I usually go out to eat, preferring to have a walk and get some fresh air. However, as all the staff had been so friendly and the facilities so good, I decided to try the restaurant. Again, this was a good decision – the menu is varied (and even shows the calories for each choice), the waiters were all excellent and the food delicious (sirloin steak cooked medium-rare to perfection).

Do I have any negative comments? Only a couple of small points, both related to security. Firstly, the corridor lights are operated on sensors which although good for energy saving unfortunately leave you in the dark for periods as you walk down a corridor waiting for them to operate. Secondly, there is no safe in the bedroom. Although signs on the lifts (hidden from view of the reception) suggest that a room card has to be swiped to operate them, this wasn’t actually the case which means it is very easy to access the floors. Combine this with the darkness of the corridors and lack of room safes, this seems to asking for problems. This is the only reason I deducted a star from my overall rating of this hotel. Clearly, I ensured that I didn’t leave anything of value in the room.

However, I still think this shouldn’t detract from the excellent experience given by this hotel and its staff. The hotel has clearly been recently refurbished throughout, including new carpets and is spotlessly clean. I’m not sure if all Premier Inns are of such a high standard and have such a friendly, well-trained team, but until I experience anything to the contrary, my stay in Reading has completely converted me to seeking out Premier Inns in the future.

Lenny Henry, I’m sorry I was so cynical when I saw your adverts – Premier Inns really do give a Premier stay without Premier prices!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caesar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were in Reading for a rugby/birthday weekend. The Premier Inn is well located for the town centre, so no need for taxis and only a short walk to the bus/train station.
The hotel is well appointed for a 'budget' hotel and the staff are great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the car park for less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dickyguern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel

Address: Letcombe Street, Reading RG1 2HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reading
#3 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#11 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range: $63 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Reading opposite the Oracle shopping centre, just 15 minutes drive from M4. The train station is a 10 minute walk and it's just 5 minutes walk for nightlife entertainment. For sport the Madejski stadium is nearby. Our Reading Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Premier Inn, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Reading Hotel Reading
Holiday Inn Reading
Reading Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing