We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good town centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is one of the best Premier Inns I have stayed in. Breakfast was excellent. Room was smart and clean. Don;t expect to see the Berkshire countryside from your hotel room though. You'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: It's quieter at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gthehornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 917 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 6 nights whilst working in reading, I did not pay for my room but the bill was £604 for B&B so I'm not sure I would have wanted to pay £100 per night! The room was great I was in room 403 which over looked the car park, as I was on my own I liked the fact I was on a higher floor at the end if the corridor, the room was massive the only thing I would change is the telly could be a bit bigger as the room was so big! The bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in but the pillows were to soft I used all 4 !! The bathroom was nice basic but clean.
The hotel was clean through out and had some nice public areas, the reception was also a bar and from what I saw could use an extra pair of hands as I had to wait for a while to be served my wifi code as the receptionist was busy making drinks and taking food orders.
The breakfast was great pretty much everything you could want from cereal to toast or crumpets or a full English the waiter in the mornings was allways really cheerful which is nice when your on your own!
I would defiantly stay here again hopfully next time without needing to go to work !

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franckeiss23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very good Premier Inn - room was very comfortable and we were happy to go back there to spend time watching the Jubilee on the television. One drawback was proximity to a network of busy roads and we did not find the soundproofing adequate at night. Air conditioning at least enabled us to keep window closed. Staff were outstandingly friendly and breakfast very good.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room at front overlooking Reading's version of Spaghetti Junction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was by far the best Premier Inn i have ever stayed in. We went for a weekend break. There were seven of us in total, my parents, 13 year old daughter, 21 year old daughter and her boyfriend. I can not fault our stay. The staff were very polite and interested that we were enjoying ourselves. The rooms have airconditioning which was brilliant. We had a lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. When we used the restaurant on the one evening our meal was excellent. Reading is great for shopping and we were very central to the shops. We stayed in rooms overlooking the car park as i requested which was very pleasant. I would highly recommend this Premier Inn. Well done to the manager and staff.

Room Tip: Back rooms overlooking the carpark are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Within 5 minutes of the the shops (The Oracle more or less opposite) and 10 minutes to Riverside bars and restaurants. One of our party came by train and this was withing easy walking distance too. Helpful and friendly Reception and dining room staff. Rooms lovely and clean and spacious as usual. The car park is quite small but we managed to get a space there as we arrived around lunchtime.

We didn't eat there in the evening, though the menu looked nice with reasonable prices. The breakfast was good, though you couldn't get Continental breakfast, only the full English at £8.95 each or Grab and Go at £2.95.

The only niggles were: a strong smell of cooking on the first evening (maybe because we were located above the dining room, though there was no such smell on the second evening). The people in the room above us seemed to be holding their own Olympic Games (lots of walking back and forth, jumping etc!!) - maybe there were children there, but fortunately this stopped by midnight, or else I would have taken up the PI offer a Good Night's Sleep and ringing Reception to ask them to ask the 'elephants' to quieten down! This, though, is obviously not the hotel's fault.

All in all would recommend this Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, facing the car park - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sianzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Premier Inn do not tell you until a few days before your stay that they have very limited parking and that it is charged. We could not get a space and ended up having to park in the Oracle shopping center, incurring an additional £40 payout on parking. Air conditioning in room very necessary but very loud. Were not notified that PI operate a "Great Night Guarantee" or would have demanded a full refund. Value for money yes, parking no...go elsewhere and spend a little bit more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Laura Gibbins-Social Media at Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Many thanks for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

Although we unfortunately do not have any control over the charges for car parking, we do notify you of parking charges on the Premier Inn website; you can contact the hotel to find out the specific charges.

Thank you once again for your review; we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was an average hotel, very clean, but did not eat there as we were going to a wedding. The only downside of this hotel is the fact that the car park is very small and you had to be very lucky to get a place and then it would cost you an extra £5.00

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveallcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Laura Gibbins-Social Media at Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Many thanks for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

Although we unfortunately do not have any control over the charges for car parking, we do notify you of parking charges on the Premier Inn website,you can contact the hotel to find out the specific charges.

Thank you once again for your review; we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#7 of 31 in Reading
2,502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel

Address: Letcombe Street, Reading RG1 2HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reading
#3 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#11 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range: $60 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Reading opposite the Oracle shopping centre, just 15 minutes drive from M4. The train station is a 10 minute walk and it's just 5 minutes walk for nightlife entertainment. For sport the Madejski stadium is nearby. Our Reading Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Reading Hotel Reading
Holiday Inn Reading
Reading Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing