We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed with family, clean room and friendly staff. Enjoyed the stay, location is good. Good restaurants at walking distance. Only issue - wifi connectivity was very feeble. Was not able to connect my laptop and use internet in room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

THANK YOU FOR YOUR FEEDBACK. Re the wifi, we have been upgrading this and soon we will be offering guests SUPER FAST INTERNET for those guests who book via our website this will be FREE of charge. I am sorry if this caused you a problem and hopefully next time you come we will be able to offer you this service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 958 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

I've stayed at the Hillingdon many times, each time in a different room but it's always the same in terms of good value. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms always clean. The location close to the town is convenient too.

Christine

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris19190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

THANK YOU, the heading of your review is really appreciated along with the rest of your review. It is great to hear that you keep coming back and hope to see you again soon.
MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a Friday night. On arriving we found a lot of cars trying to squash into a very small car park at the front whilst the large car park at the rear was completely empty! We parked at the rear where you can still access the hotel. Check in was easy and the staff friendly; the lady showed us to our room. We had booked a double but found we had a family room with an extra single bed. The rooms were bright and seemed recently decorated with new carpet. An excellent feature was the fridge, microwave, cutlery and crockery provided - you could easily do self-catering in these rooms (this would have useful in some other hotels I've stayed at in the past). Tea and coffee making was supplied too. A fairly big flat screen tv was on the wall and a desk and chair provided. The bed was comfortable and although the duvet wasn't that thick we were plenty warm enough as the room was heated. The bathroom was large, clean and had a power shower. Towels were bath towel size not bath sheets. We had booked for breakfast and on a Saturday this is between 8 and 10am. We arrived at 8 and found the dining room packed; we had to share a table. There was a buffet continental breakfast or a menu to order cooked food from. Our full English was very nice but did take around 20 minutes to arrive. Checkout was at 11am. We were very happy with our stay - our only gripe was that the signal strength to the free wifi wasn't good enough from our room (101), every time it connected it dropped the connection straight away and after about half an hour I gave up trying to use my laptop.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

THANK YOU for the EXCELLENT feed back your comments are really appreciated.
We are in the process of upgrading our internet to super fast wifi and this may have caused the weak link with the current wifi, I am sorry if this caused a problem, however I am sure you will appreciate the super fast wifi on your next stay. I am glad to hear you had such a good stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

* helpful (extra charger for mobile / taxi-driver for transfer / (computer)-IT help
* clean
* breakfast include or not - shall be double checked in advance
* open-computer (available to everyone) in the lobby
* design / interior: classic british style

Room Tip: 2nd floor is more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel. I am glad to hear you had a great stay and that you found our guests computer useful. I do hope you come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We use (used) to stay in this hotel whenever my wife had a reason to visit Reading for her work at the University. This time, a 5 nights stay she missed to book the breakfast ahead. - arriving at the hotel we kindly asked them to correct this. - They flatly refused meaning that the breakfast for the two of us comes to 20 pound per day, instead of 10. And even though we asked for this at our arrival, and then by the hotel manager Cathy they did not care. She even admitted that this was part of their strategy that in order to finance the breakfasts, they had to operate in this way!

The next surprise, she then asked us to pay the room ahead, claiming that their new card machine did not allow us to pay at departure. Crazy argument.

This hotel is otherwise OK but far away from everything, Most of the things in the Hotel are working, but nothing is grand. The door locks are unsafe as the doors do not close by themselves, you have to carefully check that they do lock and the card keys are failing to work at least once a day.

Be careful with which room you choose, many are run down and most are disturbed by traffic
and the nearby church which runs the bell every hour night and day. Some rooms they only clean once a week.

The breakfast is again not grand, but a full English breakfast is served, quality is ok but on the low side, the yogurt offered is for us terrible, creamy and chemical loaded. . A continental breakfast does not include any ham or salami nor does the full breakfast, the cheese are only in small square plastic packages. no slices. The breakfast only gets a 1 from us. There is no comparison with the 12 pound breakfast served by Plaza Riverside, London.

There is a micro oven in all the rooms and a fridge which unfortunately makes sharp noises when starting and stopping.

walking distans to the center is approx 20 minutes, and only there you may find good or decent eating places.

Room Tip: Be careful with which room you choose, many are run down and most are disturbed by traffic and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RagnarTartu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

I am very sad to read your review asI feel that my staff and I have gone out of our way to look after you during your stay. Checkin time is 2pm, however when you arrived early to the hotel we found a room that was ready early for you. You then requested to move upstairs and another room was found straight away, all this before the 2pm arrival time.
I am aware you were upset that you could not have the advance stay breakfast price and I feel this is why you have decided to rate our hotel only two blobs on trip advisor. The £5 breakfast offer is an advance purchase special offer and only available when pre booking via our website.
You will see on trip advisor many guests rate our breakfast highly along with the service from my staff, the rooms and everything else about their stay. I am truly sorry that you feel the need to write us such a negative review. My staff and I will continue to look after you for the rest of your stay while you are still inhouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Hillingdon prince hotel on a few occasions know and fully recommend the establishment. Warm welcome and budget to suit all certainly ensures a good stay and nights sleep. The location and free wi-fi is a bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Glad to hear that you found the free wifi helpful. It is great to hear that you have stayed with us before, we must be doing a good job!! Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Overall experience very good, the room was well spaced with all the normal tea making , dryer, TV facilities...we had a cooked breakfast in the morning included in the bill and that was tasty and filling as well. Got the room on offer so cannot complain for the value for money we got.
Good location closer to city center as well and ample parking on site available.

Room Tip: if you are paying for a double room ask for the Double bed if you prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsaeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,885 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
1.0 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,409 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillingdon Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Address: 39 Christchurch Road, Reading RG2 7AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range: $57 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillingdon Prince Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us for clean comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our rooms offer microwaves and fridges and some with mini kitchens. Ideal for the cost conscious traveller as you are the able to cater for yourself. We can also arrange free delivery and discounts at our local restaurants. We offer FREE secure wifi, gym and 24 hour reception. We serve breakfast daily. Located just a short walk to the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading University, the Town Centre and a short drive to all the local Business Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hillingdon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Reading
Reading Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing