We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Own "kitchen"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Own "kitchen"”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at the Hillingdon Prince and will come back next time. It had the qualities that I look for:
Large room (at least the one I got).
I particularly appreciated the possibility to eat in the room: fridge, microwave, boiling water, plate, knife, fork, plates, tea/coffee. They will even wash the dishes for you. Plenty of take away and shops just nearby.
The basin had a separate hot and cold tap... not practical but typically English!
The gym could have been called a sauna: it has large glass windows, so that it works as a greenhouse (>30 C). Unusable during summer, but possibly nice in wintertime.
Not completely in the city centre, but with the advantage that it is probably quieter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    331
    121
    73
    106
See reviews for
137
217
88
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the football game @ Reading, local bus takes you near the ground (there's a special but couldn't work the times out). Anyway rooms were adequate, also had a fridge in ours. Plenty of car parking and a short walk to the centre of Reading which has several chain restaurants nicely located by the river. We found the staff very friendly and helpful (opened the bar early so we could enjoy a pre-match pint) and the breakfast was freshly prepared and nice. One grumble about breakfast was the tea and coffee was on a percolator and in flasks and was lukewarm at the time we breakfasted. That said it is a hotel we would come to again should the occasion arise.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leedsfansontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

There is obviously a variety of standard of room at the hillingdon the room which I stayed was terrible, as a field engineer I have stayed in hundreds of hotels throughout the uk and this is the worst I have ever stayed in. The window, walls and curtains were covered in mould, the wardrobe was falling apart and was only held up by the support of the bed, the electrical fixings were exposed. The bathroom was terrible and the room smelt so bad I nearly went to sleep in the car. The room had a massive flat screen tv which was the only good thing about the room, the priorities are obviously all wrong. I contacted the hotel with photos and I was offered another stay, but decided against it. I would rather stay awake all night than revisit that room again.

Room Tip: If you are offered room 510 turn around and sleep in the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James_Wxm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in August, 6 nights in the first week and another 5 nights at the end. All staff were friendly and helpful. Our rooms were all we needed; a couple of items needed attention - the phone, the light above the mirror in the bathroom, but these were attended to as soon as we mentioned them. The room was too hot to sleep and the fan too noisy, although great when relaxing in the evenings; we asked for and got a double bed sheet and abandoned the duvet, problem sorted. We heard the bells of the church but actually enjoyed hearing them. Having a fridge and microwave was a selling point for us, as having been out all day it was great to be able to have a late meal heated in our room. The Continental breakfast provided as much as one wanted to eat and endless coffee, and the cooked option also had a good selection. The cost of the room was very reasonable; we booked early as Priority Club Members - got a discount, a free drink and a gift. The location is great; just along the street, in Whitely Rd, one can catch a bus to the CBD or station for just one pound, saves what for us was a 20 min walk. We will recommend this hotel to others and will return should we get back to England again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherril E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de Mazarron, Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked my husband in initially for two nights but plans changed and it turned out to be for just one night. On arrival there was a slight misunderstanding with the booking but this was quickly sorted and at no point did they try to blame anyone. Ensuring that even though all single rooms were allocated a solution would be found. The person on reception was very polite and kind and sorted the problem out very quickly, with no fuss and resulting in my husband being given a large two bedroom apartment for the night. This was clean, comfortable and as next to the hotel very quiet, he had a very good nights sleep.
Breakfast was very good as we have found on previous stays. Being replenished all the time and table cleared of all debris as soon as finished.
Ok the shower had a few problems with temperature control but for the price of the stay was not an issue.
We have used the Hillingdon Prince before and would not hesitate to use again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The rooms were basic but pleasant, and had everything I needed for my stay. It was good to have a lounge and the thing that made my stay more pleasant were the genuinely kind and helpful staff who always greeted us with a smile. They were very helpful as we didn't know the area.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazza196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were on a fun weekend away and booked 3 x twin rooms between the six of us. The rooms were tidy and clean with good facilities - an added bonus was a fridge and a microwave, with the recommendation of local shops and take-aways (for which you get a discount if you show your room card!). A great touch for promoting the local community!
The staff were cheery and helpful and the hotel was in a relatively good location - just 10 minutes walk from the centre (or a 5 minute cab ride)
We are definitely planning a stay there on our next trip to Reading, and would certainly recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.0 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillingdon Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Property: Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Address: 39 Christchurch Road, Reading RG2 7AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillingdon Prince Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us for clean comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our rooms offer microwaves and fridges and some with mini kitchens. Ideal for the cost conscious traveller as you are the able to cater for yourself. We can also arrange free delivery and discounts at our local restaurants. We offer FREE secure wifi, gym and 24 hour reception. We serve breakfast daily. Located just a short walk to the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading University, the Town Centre and a short drive to all the local Business Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hillingdon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Reading
Reading Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing